13" uMB - New HDD, machine won't boot

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ascender, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. ascender macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #1
    I've just tried installing a new WD 500Gb HDD in to a 13" uMB machine.

    When I power it on, I get the "?" folder which is expected. However, the machine won't boot from the Leopard DVD. The drive spins up the disc and then the machine power cycles off, back on and repeats.

    Any ideas? Not had much luck with Google.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Did you make a bootable backup of your hard drive? You could try booting from that and then format/install Leopard on the new internal.
     
  3. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #3
    No, I might try that later, have put the old HDD back in for just now. Thought I'd check first to see if it was a known problem or not.

    Thanks for the idea.
     
  4. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #4
    Make sure you press and hold "C" during reboot. This will boot from your OS disk.
     
  5. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #5
    Yes. All it does is power cycle the machine.
     
  6. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #6
    Installed the new drive in an external caddy and successfully installed OS X on to it, to the point of being able to boot my Mac Pro from it.

    Disk in to laptop and it does the same, just continually power cycles. Apple power-on noise, grey screen, black screen. Repeat.
     
  7. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #7
    Could I make an image of the old, working drive, restore it to the new drive and then try booting from that?
     
  8. gerabbi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #8
    Make a clone of your good disk to your new disk with either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper and you should be good to go.
     
  9. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #9
    Sorted. Still no idea why it wouldn't boot with the blank hdd in it, but its working now after using SuperDuper to make a clone.
     
  10. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    I think this is one of the strangest problems I've ever seen on MRF.
     
  11. AppleTecFan macrumors 6502

    AppleTecFan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    N/A
    #11
    Pretty sure the unibody macbook 13' does not support 500GB HDD
     
  12. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #12
    I can't speak for the 13' MacBook, but the 13" sure supports 500 gb. ;)
     
  13. ascender thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #13
    Pretty sure it does ;)

    Not sure what the BTO options were, but people on here have definitely upgraded theirs with this exact drive without any problems. It was such a weird issue though, never seen it before in 12+ years of upgrading Macs.
     
  14. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #14
    Shhh! My 2.4 uMB might hear you!!! :p (It's working on mine.)
     
  15. Jeffrosproto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #15
    Works fine here.
     

Share This Page