13'' vs 15'' rMBP for 4K Output, major differences?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by evrard, Feb 21, 2015.

  1. evrard macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #1
    While I know the 15'' rMBP can output 60 Hz 4K via Thunderbolt 1.2, but can the 13'' rMBP? I am trying to decide if I should purchase the 13'' or 15'' - prefer the compactness and lightness of the 13''. Is there a big difference between 30Hz and 60Hz? Would 60Hz reduce ghosting?
     
  2. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    If you need to run 4k off your Mac you would be better off getting a 15" rMBP, a Retina iMac or a Mac Pro.

    No

    Yes, at 30Hz you are going to see a lot more lag and stuttering of frames when using your external 4k monitor. Modern computers are designed to operate at 60Hz

    Monitors do a pretty good job in general of controlling ghosting these days. You are more likely to just see it give you lag and stuttering.
     
  3. stempsons macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #3
    you can run a 4k sst monitor off a late 2013 retina 13" at 50hz using the mini display port to display port cable. you have to use a third party program (switchresx) but it works fine. not quite as smooth as 60hz, but way smoother than 30hz.

    a 15" retina macbook would be ideal though, since it natively supports 4k at 60hz without third part software.
     
  4. Sheza macrumors 65816

    Sheza

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon & London At The Same Time
    #4
    If you really want to connect to a 4K monitor, go with the 15. It is possible to do it with the 13 at 50-55Hz but it's not officially supported and it's fiddly to get working.

    I have a 13 so I'm personally looking in to getting a 25" 2560x1440 monitor and either just using it at its native resolution or putting it in a 1080p HiDPI mode.
     
  5. evrard thread starter macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #5
    Thanks for the help. Quick question, will I need a new Thunderbolt to HDMI adapter or will my old one work?
     
  6. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #6
    I plugged my 13" into my Dell P2415Q and it functioned as a 1440p monitor. So there's that.
     
  7. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    rMBP all have built in HDMI ports so you can plug directly in without an adapter. Max resolution is 4k at 30Hz on all models. If you go with the 15" you need to go through the Thunderbolt ports to get 4k at 60Hz.
     
  8. evrard thread starter macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #8
    If I went with the 15'' would the thunderbolt require a different cable? Or a cable that supported 1.2?
     
  9. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Just a regular Mini-DisplayPort to Mini-DisplayPort or Display Port (depends on your monitor)
     
  10. evrard thread starter macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #10
  11. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
  12. evrard thread starter macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #12
    It doesn't have a Thunderport input, rather I am going from Thunderport to USB adapter on the Macbook.... is that why? Does it need a physical input?
     
  13. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #13
    Yes it does.

    The Thunderbolt port and Mini DisplayPort are the same port.

    So you just need to connect an mDP cable into the mDP/DP port of your display.
     
  14. Sheza macrumors 65816

    Sheza

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon & London At The Same Time
    #14
    But then if you don't yet have a 4K display there's no point doing that, right? Because it would be a waste of money as you're not getting the full 4K. Unless you're saying it functions as a 1400p HiDPI monitor?

    According to the TV spec page, there doesn't seem to be a DP port
     
  15. evrard thread starter macrumors regular

    evrard

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #15
    There isn't. Is it common for there to be? I thought it almost always went through a converter. So, rMBP > MiniDisplay Port to HDMI Converter > HDMI Cable to TV
     
  16. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #16
    From my understanding the 13" can output 4k but at 52 Hz. I'm not sure if it's that different than 60 Hz but none the less if you want 4k at 60 Hz, get the 15"

    Even the base can do it you don't need the dedicated graphics card
     
  17. Sheza macrumors 65816

    Sheza

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Croydon & London At The Same Time
    #17
    It's common on monitors, but not usually TVs. I doubt it would work through a converter, the max for 4K through a HDMI cable is 30Hz I believe.
     
  18. WorldIRC, Feb 22, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2015

    WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #18
    Will a Mid-2014 rMBP 15" allow two monitors @ 4K / 60hz via the Thunderbolt (MDP)?
     
  19. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #19
    No. Only one 4K @ 60 Hz display can be driven at any time.
     
  20. WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #20
    You think its a hardware limitation or firmware limitation at this point?
     
  21. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #21
    Hardware.
     

Share This Page