13" vs 15" rMBP For Work

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by A4orce84, Jun 28, 2014.

1. A4orce84, Jun 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2014

A4orce84 macrumors 6502

Hey Guys,

My company is helping me purchase a new computer for work, and gave me a $2k (maybe slightly over if I can sell it) price cap. I'm trying to figure out what would be the better choice for me the 13" or 15" Macbook Pro (Retina)?

I know there are probably a million posts like these from college kids, but since I'm in a professional setting (traveling around my office for meetings, working at my desk, working from home / coffee shops, etc.) wanted to get people's opinions out there. I'm a system administrator (UNIX), so I live in the terminal (ssh, sftp, etc.) and use my email + web browsing quite a bit. As well a fun apps like Spotify, Skitch, Evernote, etc. that don't take a lot of resources. Finally, I do some slight programming as well (not a ton), but every now and then I'll need to knock out some bash scripts.

Right now, I'm leaning a bit towards the 15" since I have a 15" 2009 Macbook Pro (non-Retina) for home use, and enjoy it greatly to this day. Thanks in advance for all your comments and feedback.

2. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

sonicrobby

The 15" has a dGPU and quad core processor which is vastly more powerful than the 13", but not everyone needs quad core and dGPU. Im not a programmer, so Im not sure if those 2 will be necessary for your job (I don't think they are, but wait for experienced users in that field to answer). The 13" is more portable, but slightly. I have no problems carrying around my 15" rMBP in my backpack or just by hand.

But my opinion, if they are giving you 2k for a mac, why not go with the one with more bang for that buck? :]

3. leman macrumors 604