1333 MHz RAM with New 8 Core

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hlipnick, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. hlipnick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #1
    Okay...so from what I gather, the new 8 core (which I have on order) utilizes 1066 RAM, and only the 6 and 12 core use 1333...correct?

    So, the question is when I add third party RAM, should I be getting 1066 or 1333. Can the 8 core actually address (or benefit from) the 1333? Will the machine even see it? The real question, I suppose, is which one of these 8GB upgrades I want to get from OWC. I ordered the computer, by the way, with 8GB from Apple (4x2GB) which from reading I presume is all 1066 RAM. So can I mix and match the 1066 with 1333?
    Here are the two OWC choice, by the way:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/85MP3E2M08GK/

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333D3W2M08K/

    It's not the ten dollar difference that really has me concerned, I just want to make sure that whatever I order will work, and if there is some benefit to putting in the 1333. I'm willing to fork over the extra 10 bucks if there is...
    Thanks for any help.
    Peace,

    -Harry
     
  2. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    It should be able to see the RAM.

    But since the processors only support 1066Mhz RAM, any 1333 modules you use will be underclocked to that speed.

    And even if you had a processor that supported 1333 modules, if you mixed your 1066 and 1333 modules, the 1333 modules would also be underclocked to 1066 because it would be bad for RAM to be accessed at different speeds.

    So no benefit of using the 1333 modules.
     
  3. hlipnick thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #3
    Well that certainly makes it easy. Thanks Vylen. As long as no one else cares to differ, I'll go ahead and order the 1066 modules.
    Peace,

    -Harry
     
  4. MacSince1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #4
    If you plan on upgrading the processors in the future, would it be safer to use the 1333 modules? So you don't have to change the memory again when you change the processors. The price difference between the speeds at OWC is negligible.
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Yep.
     

Share This Page