1333Mhz RAM in 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thefredelement, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I desperately need to add some RAM to my 4,1 cMP. I plan on one day updating the CPUs and flashing to a 5,1, in the mean time, is it ok to drop some of these in:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/200653647709?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    I recall something about temperature sensors or something to that effect and I don't want to have to do much fussing around nor do I want the RAM having any problems in the system.

    I have 16GB of the RAM that came with it, would there be any issues of running them side by side until I get a complete 48GB at 1333?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    All ECC DDR3 has temperature sensors, it's part of the spec. Don't worry a bout that.

    4x4GB? They are likely unbuffered ECC DIMMs. These 8GB ones may very well be Registered ECC and the two types won't play nice together.
     
  3. thefredelement thread starter macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Thank you!

    I have 2x8GB now, they show up as:

    Size: 8 GB
    Type: DDR3 ECC
    Speed: 1066 MHz
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    None whatsoever. However, some folks that populate all four slots on each CPU report that the speed drops to 1066MHz. The CPUs employed in the 4,1 and 5,1 Mac Pro are three channel memory and for the best performance it is recommended that three slots (1,2,3 and 5,6,7) be populated with matched RAM (same speed, manufacturer, and type).


    Lou
     

Share This Page