13in '10 ultimate vs 13in '11 Base model?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RKilbane20, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. RKilbane20 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    I currently have a 13in macbook pro 2010 model with a 2.66 GHz core 2 duo, 8 gigs of ram and the Nvidia 320m graphics card. Do you think this model rivals the current lowest end 2011 model with no GPU and 4 gigs of ram?
     
  2. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #2
    The 2011 one has a better CPU (essentially 100% faster), although the 320m is better than HD3000. Not by a whole lot though.
     
  3. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #3
    They both don't have GPUs. Stop making that misconception. The 320m is an integrated card for the Nvidia chipset that the 2010 runs on.

    Intel i-processors do not need an integrated graphics processor, for it's integrated onto the CPU itself.

    Since the 2011 and 2010 have nearly the same graphics performance, it all comes down to which CPU is better. In this case, the 2011 wins.

    Here's the priority chart for buying laptops:
    CPU > Graphics > RAM > Screen > Hard drive > everything else
     
  4. thinkinblue613 macrumors 6502

    thinkinblue613

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #4
    According to geekbench scores, the 2011 baseline MBP 13" is better than the top of the line 2010 models from any size.
     
  5. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #5
    Correct me if I'm wrong but, isn't the i5 2.3GHz processor is better than any mobile Core 2 Duo processor that Apple has used?

    However, the processor is probably not the weakest link in the performance chain. You'd probably be better off just buying a SSD.

    I just sold my 13" 2010 MBP and bought a 13" 2011 MBP ... I didn't need it, I bought it cause I wanted it. I notice the performance difference, but I could live without it.
     
  6. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  7. RKilbane20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #7
    How much would the 8 gigs of ram make over 4 gigs standard?
     
  8. thinkinblue613 macrumors 6502

    thinkinblue613

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #8
    What do you mean by make? If its cost... I got mine for $40 on newegg but that was some deal they had going on.
     
  9. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #9
    Depends what you do.. but i wouldn't give up the processor of the new one for ram in the old one if that's what you are getting at. Ram is CHEAP, and easy to install.
     

Share This Page