13in or 15in? Also a question regarding processor choices.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GreatMightySymp, Jul 29, 2014.

1. GreatMightySymp macrumors member

GreatMightySymp

I currently have a Mid 2011 27in iMac. I'm a web designer and programmer by trade, so I was thinking of possibly picking up a MBPr now that they've refreshed them. (Plus I have not-optimal eye sight and having a retina quality screen really helps my eyes from eye strain.)

I'm looking into the 13in model as I have a Surface Pro 3 for Windows development and the 12in size is alright. Is there any reason to go up to 15in besides a bigger screen? I had a 15in Windows laptop a good 5-6 years ago and that thing was a brick so I'm wary of the larger size for a notebook.

Also, if I was doing the 256GB option (I'd use the iMac for main music/video storage) is there any need to increase the processor or is it basically just benchmark increases unless you went full-hog for the 3.0GHz choice? I'd be bumping up to 16GB regardless.

Also, IIRC if you have a Thunderbolt-to-Thunderbolt cable you can use the iMac as a secondary monitor?

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

The screen size is really a matter of personal preference. I have a 15" and love the extra real estate. I think the deciding factor for you might be whether or not you will have to carry it around a lot. If so, maybe you'd prefer the 13" over the 15".

3. GreatMightySymp thread starter macrumors member

GreatMightySymp

Yeah, I'd ideally favor weight over screen size if it came to that as I have the 27in iMac as a second screen when I'm home. I'd like it to be small enough to easily fit in my Filson messenger bag.

4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

I have a 27" iMac as well, but still prefer the 15" MBP. However, I don't travel with it much at all. But I think that if I were to start traveling, I'd actually go for a 13" MacBook Air.

5. Zauberer macrumors regular