13in or 15in pro?PLEASE help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Chinglish, Feb 5, 2012.

1. Chinglish macrumors newbie

I'm a student and I use pro for reading papers and editting PPT for presentation. I don't play games for several years. But if the pro can run some 3D game such as wow , that's will be perfect. I want qual core i7 because several years later I want to upgrade it by SSD and 16 gigs RRAM. but is it a problem that the weight of 15 in pro to carry? Because I will take it to lab and library frequently. Considering the updating , I prefer 15 in;considering the weight, I prefer 13 in.

Thank you for your minutes. :D

2. Spink10 macrumors 601

Spink10

15 - it is not that big of a difference in weight. I must admit the 13 is nice :)

3. shanimal macrumors member

i have the 15" and the weight itsnt bad. i got used to it. i wish i was rich enough to have a MBP or iMac at home and an Air for school. but i think that the 13" would be better suited for taking to and from school, next to the Air of course. the 13" doesnt have dedicated GPU nor quad core so... : ( but like i said, i have the 15" and its not too large to take to class, and it has all the goodies i want.

4. drumrobot macrumors member

I'm not following you... why couldn't you buy the SSD and 16 GB RAM upgrade for the 13"? I did both for mine (albeit with a 8 GB upgrade cause I couldn't buy the 16--but it is available).

5. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

M5RahuL

I find the 13" more portable! The 15 is def. the sweet spot, but for lugging around.. I like the 13" MBP!

Heck, I'd recommend the 13" MBA if they would allow for more than 4GB RAM!

Given your present requirements, I don't see why you'd need 16GB RAM!

Also, I doubt you'll keep the laptop for several years!

Go play with the 13 and 15 at BB and get whatever's more comfortable.

6. Jordnbeats macrumors member

You and I are in the same boat!