15.4 VS 17 for a graphic design major...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Estelio, Aug 22, 2007.

1. Estelio macrumors newbie

Hi all, here is the deal....

I am a design student who needs a MBP.
    I have $3,000 to spend, and it's rather strict unfortunately.

Ideally I want the 17" High Res, 7200 rpm model.
    With the free iPod, this comes to about 3,400 with taxes. Of course I'll get the 400 dollars back, but it's still out of my pocket and I'm honestly not sure I can spend that much.

Or I can get the 15.4" with 7200 rpm, with iPod.

I'm totally stuck.
    The 17" is NICE, but less portable, a bit fragile, and expensive.
    The 15.4" screen resolution could be better, but it's cheaper.

Is a 17" practical for a student? Am I trying to be too flashy?
    I won't be taking it to every class or anything, but it will need to go places.
    Is there any thing I may be missing here? the decision might sound easy, but it is sooooo not!
    I guess I'd just like to create the best possible tool for my future.
    If I did get the 15.4", could I afford CS3 and would that be a worthy trade off?
    (I already have CS2 access.)

I also need it fast, so online ordering isn't an option.
    Does the current store stock have iLife '08?
    Please help a lost little design student!

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Can't speak to iLife but I can tell you as a graphic design student a 15" would be great with an external. If an external display isn't an option then the 17" would be your choice.

3. Estelio thread starter macrumors newbie

I don't think an external in my dorm is a good idea.
    I thought I might scream spoiled with a 17" let alone an external!

This may sound stupid but, in our studio we have our own designated iMacs; Can I use that as an external display or do they not work that way?

4. allisonv7 macrumors 6502

I'm pretty sure you can't use the imac as an external display.