Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MUrhino

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 6, 2003
Hey everybody. I've got a dilema on my hands. Through the student developer program I can either get a new 15" albook (when it comes out) airport extreme, and a 10gb ipod for around $3000....or I can get a Dual 1.25 PowerMac w/ the beautiful 23" screen for about the same...a little more though. I'm a student at the University of Missouri and have a great deal of trouble making decisions such as this one because both would be great purchases :confused:. A laptop would be nice, but I wouldn't take it to class for notes or anything. On the other hand I figure I could save up and buy the 23" later this summer hoping that it may have some tv tuner upgrades put into it by then. I'm not a big developer or anything, but I would like to do some gaming, regular photoshoping, movie watching here and there, office...etc. I would appreciate any input!!...HELP!!! :eek:

morlium

macrumors regular
Dec 18, 2002
If you're going to go with the PowerMac, I'd up the tower to the 1.42 and lessen the monitor to 20". For what you describe, the 20 is a much better option at $700 less. Check it out at a local computer store - the 20" is a very nice, very large display, with great resolution at a great price. It realy can't be beat, and you can put that money towards the tower.

Also, for what you describe, either the 17" or 15" PowerBook will suffice. (There is really no guarantee that an Al version of the 15" is ever coming out, so I wouldn't necessarily plan on that.) Laptops are nice, even if you're just going from one side of your room to the other. Desktops are nice for expandability.

If you really don't think you're ever going to leave your desk, however, I would definitely get the 1.42 and a 20".

However, whichever you choose, I'm sure you'll be extremely happy for years to come.

.a

macrumors regular
Dec 5, 2001