15" and 17" Macbook Pro cannot be ordered now

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by luxm, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. luxm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #1
    Tried to select a 15" or 17" model of macbook pro, but got the following message -- "The page you're looking for can't be found. Did you try searching? Enter a keyword(s) in the search field above. Or, try one of the links below."
    Had no problem selecting the 13" ones.
    Does it mean the 15 and 17 models will be updated soon?
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    You May Be On To something Here

    Get the same "Page not found" error in the UK. JUst bought my 17" I was told no update soon (I hope not) It could just be the Apple site, but it's world-wide.

    Maybe this afternoon...
     
  3. The-Pro, Oct 24, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
  5. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #5
    I wouldn't be. The new base 15" isn't as good as the previous top-end 15", which can be bought for the same price online. So by buying the old model, you get a bigger HDD and twice the VRAM. Wishing I'd ordered last week and not waited now.
     
  6. jaymul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Location:
    Liverpool, England
    #6
    any one know what the top spec 15" mbp is now?
     
  7. JaHull, Oct 24, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011

    JaHull macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #7
    The top end 15" pro now supports a 2.5GHz Quad i7 with 8MB L3 Cache, everything else is the same

    EDIT: forgot to mention the graphics card has been increased from a 6750 to a 6770 so a slight graphics increase as well with the same 1GB of GDDR5 RAM
     
  8. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #8
    That chip is a CTO option; the stock chip is the 2.4GHz i7 with 6MB L3 cache.
     
  9. JaHull macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Ah yes my mistake for phrasing it wrong
     
  10. praetorian909 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #10
    You're right about the larger HDD and double the VRAM on the old top model (MC723LL/A), but where do you see it for the same price as the new base model?

    Everywhere I checked it was at least $2000 USD (limited stock now of course).
     
  11. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #11
    You can get the old top-end 15" on Amazon Marketplace in the UK for about £20 more than the new low-end. Add on £21 for the Lion upgrade (I'm not sure if the up-to-date program would apply) and it's £40 more. I'm just taking the Marketplace price as a ballpark figure. Other resellers haven't dropped their pricing yet (this has only just come out after all). I'm not sure how happy I'd be ordering from a non-approved reseller though, but that's probably just me.
     

Share This Page