15" Graphite Studio Display blank screen

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rtheb, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. rtheb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    I was hoping someone might have a clue as to how I can get my old M7613
    15" Graphite Studio Display to function with my old 450 MHz Power Mac G4 AGP with DVI out.

    The 15" Graphite Studio Display has a DVI, USB, and Power Combo Cable

    http://www.everymac.com/monitors/apple/studio_cinema/specs/apple_studio_display_gray.html

    I hooked the G4 up to a VGA display in combo with the Studio Display but the G4 only recognizes the VGA Display.

    I have an amber power light on the Studio Display but nothing else.

    System Preferences Displays only recognizes the VGA display as connected.

    When hooking up the Studio Display alone we do not even get the amber power light, and obviously nothing is displayed.

    We are trying to set this G4 up just for web browsing and would like to use the Studio Display.

    I assume that the Studio Display is using just a standard DVI and the G4 DVI is compatible.

    Any ideas sincerely appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #2
    I have determined that the Studio Display is functioning OK when used with my MacBook as shown by the attached images.

    Still wondering why it is not working with the old sawtooth G4.

    The DVI out on the G4 is functioning with a Westinghouse monitor so that can't be the problem.

    I was wondering if the USB plug is the problem so I'll attempt to use a powered USB hub and see if that solves the problem.

    Any ideas are welcome.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #3
    Eureka

    The problem isn't the Studio Display but the sensitivity of the 45W Power Adapter.

    If you touch the Power Cord or lift the Adapter the Display goes dead.

    I had forgotten the great clarity of this display. Amazing for a 10 year old product. Kudos :apple:

    BTW I hooked the Studio Display to my ThinkPad and the display makes the Think Pad look ill in comparison.

    Now if I can find a new 45W Studio Display Power Adapter all should be well.
    If anyone has a spare please PM me.

    I have attached some Images from the ThinkPad showing the Studio Display configuration:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #4
    Here is a picture of the culprit.

    [​IMG]


    It is part number 922-4166, and Model No. M4551 45W Studio Display Power Adapter.

    If anyone has one please PM me, I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. awmazz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #5
    So the reason it worked on the Macbook and Thinkpad but not the G4 was just the supply being finicky?

    Good luck trying to find the adapter. The displays themselves are hard to find, let alone just the adapters. You may have to resort to a third party one.
     
  6. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #6
    Unfortunately if you bump or even lift the adapter the display blanks out and the power light goes off.

    I then have to play with the power-in cable until the display lights up again.

    I have seen some adapters on e-bay which are not Apple OEM.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=360129177311

    but I am hesitant to bite the bullet as they are third party and do not know if they will damage the display.

    Anybody try these?

    I'm still shocked at the quality of this old display. If the size was bigger I'd probably use it personally.

    Almost makes me want to buy an old ADC Apple Cinema Display HD (23-Inch) for cheap!
     
  7. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #7
    Murphy's Law in effect...

    So I bite the bullet and order the third party power adapter and then of course I discover that the Apple Power adapter is fine and it is the power-out connector to the display which is touchy. :mad::eek:

    Still better than trying to repair the display and I'll now have a third party power adapter for backup. :eek::eek:

    BTW if anyone is still using the old ADC Apple Cinema Display HD (23-Inch) I would like to hear your comments et. al.

    I am seriously considering buying one if I can find one inexpensive enough.
     
  8. awmazz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #8
    I have some. I wanted a couple of new HD 1920x1200 displays and chose to buy second hand ACDs off ebay for about the same price as brand new [insert brand name] monitors. Apart from the exterior white design looking so much better and different than all the bog-standard all-black LCD monitors available now, the image colour and quality of the screen itself is superb.

    I was so impressed, I even packed away my BenQ 20" back into its box and replaced it with a second-hand 20" ACD as well. After getting the 23" ACDs, there was just no comparison regarding colour and quality as well as the design of the display itself and I couldn't stand even looking at the BenQ any more.
     
  9. rtheb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #9
    Just received the third party Power Adapter from lcdpayless and I am happy to report that the adapter works like a charm with the 15" Studio Display.

    lcdpayless indicates they can build power adapters to custom specifications so anyone missing a Power Adapter might what to give these guys a try.

    I'm a bit disappointed that I didn't discover the cause of the Studio Display's power problem being in the cable at the power adapter out connection until I had already purchased the third party Power Adapter, but perhaps someone here needing a Power Adapter source will benefit.

    Studio Display and G4 are now up and running and slooowly searching the internet.
     

Share This Page