15-inch MBP - Which do I really need? 9600M GT 256 or 512?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacAndy74, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. MacAndy74 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm confused which discrete video option I need.
    I plan on using iLife apps and playing Sims 3.

    So would the 256MB 9600M GT be enough or should I get the 512MB variety?

    He-e-e :eek: e-e-lp! :eek:
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    the way i see it, you're more likely to hit a bottleneck based on the speed of the gpu than an extra 256 mb difference. I don't think it's worth the extra cash, honestly.
     
  3. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    That cool. Thanks! I thought 256MB was likely to be enough too. :)
     
  4. grahamnp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #4
    The 512mb will give a small performance boost but you won't be making full advantage of the twofold increase in memory because of the 128bit interface. The lower the resolution you play your games at, the smaller the advantage.
     
  5. zorahk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #5
    For the sims 3, it's not worth it.

    But if we are talking FPS gaming, definitely go for the 512, because you will want to play at higher resolutions with better FPS.
     
  6. MacAndy74 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
  7. Smacky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #7
    But you cant upgrade from 2.66ghz 3mb l2 cache to 2.8ghz 6mb l2 cache if you take the 256mb video option
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Back in October, I opted for the then 2.53GHz MBP because you cannot upgrade the vram, L2 cache or cpu speed, so while I may not see the need for the extra vram, I might down the road.

    I frequently use two monitors and I thought (rightfully for wrongfully) the extra vram would be beneficial in that case as well.
     

Share This Page