15" Macbook Pro differences?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by krazykongo, Mar 10, 2008.

1. krazykongo macrumors newbie

Hi

Im looking to buy a macbook pro 15" but not sure which variant to get.

Ive been looking at the 2.4Ghz and the 2.5Ghz, which have the 8600 256mb and 8600 512mb GPUs respectively.

Can anybody tell me if the differences between these two models justify a £300 price difference?

Im leaning towards the 2.5Ghz because if im going to drop over a grand on something which i will most probably use everyday, then an extra £300 isnt so bad. BUT (a very big BUT), obviously if you guys and girls ;) really think theres not a discernable difference then i would be happy to save some money.

Im a Creative Product Design student and will be using Creative Suite 3 mostly as well as CAD packages (e.g. rhino - which i will run on xp). Also, the usual internet browsing, media etc...

Does anybody have experience with using the higher education student discount?

how much discount did you get?

thanks for your help ( and please be nice, its my first post :) )

2. joefinan macrumors 6502a

Hi and welcome

I went for the 2.5 and I don't use such processor-hungry applications. The other big difference is that the 2.4 only has 3MB of on-chip cache, where as the 2.5 has 6MB. That and the extra .1GHz and double the graphics card all adds up to a slightly more capable machine and, I think, it's worth the extra.

Just don't upgrade the RAM - if you want to get more RAM order it from someone like Crucial and put it in yourself. Apple charge a fortune!

3. krazykongo thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for the prompt reply

I think ive made my mind up about not getting the 2.4ghz version now BUT ive opened another door and standing there is the 17" version.

what do you think about the 2.5Ghz 15" and 17"?

4. Salty Pirate macrumors 6502

Salty Pirate