15" MacBook Pro graphic cards autoswitching.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jvpython, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. jvpython, Sep 17, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012

    jvpython macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I see so many people on this forum that keep wondering why their 15" MBP only seems to have the Intel HD 4000 graphic chip. So once and for all, your MBP automatically switches depending on what you are doing. By default it will use the Intel HD 4000 as it saves power and therefore generates less heat too. If you want to manually switch GPU, download gfxCardStatus. That way you'll be able to use either one when you want.
     
  2. afinch1992 macrumors 6502

    afinch1992

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #2
    thanks or the info
     
  3. jvpython, Sep 17, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012

    jvpython thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
  4. jvpython thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    In Mountain Lion I've noticed quite a significant difference in the smoothness of various animations such as mission control between the Intel HD 4000 and GT 650m. I'm forcing my MacBook Pro to use the discrete card now unless I'm out and about in which guess I'll use the HD 4000 to save battery.
     
  5. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #5
    The fact that the rMBP has an iGPU and a dGPU has been one of the major culprits in Mountain Lion UI lag it seems.
     

Share This Page