15" MacBook Pro large enough for graphics work?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by milky23, Apr 4, 2007.

1. milky23 macrumors regular

I'm a college student who plans on immersing himself in graphic work (mostly in Photoshop and Illustrator) for the next few semesters. Hopefully at some point I'll make it into the graphic design program at Savannah College of Art and Design. That said, I currently own a 20" iMac Core Duo. I often visit home which makes it a pain to lug my iMac to and fro, and am looking to sell it and replace it with a laptop. Here's my choices, then.

1) 15" MacBook Pro - Nice and portable, but will the screen resolution be big enough for graphics work? What do you guys think?
    2) 17" MacBook Pro - This would be the ideal choice, ultimately, but its fairly expensive. If I could get away with using a 15" MacBook Pro, I would. Again, would 1440x900 suffice for Photoshop work? I'd be working primarily with 300dpi files.
    3) MacBook w/ 23" Cinema Display - I'm worried about this idea. While I have ultimate portability as well as a sweet screen to use when I need it, I'm worried that the MacBook's underpowered video performance will come back to bite me.

What are your thoughts?

2. Cybix macrumors 6502a

Cybix

i have a 15" MBP, i dont think it's big enough for graphic work. but then, neither is a 17".

I'd be hitting up the shop for a 15" MBP and one of apples Cinema Displays.

planning on the 30" myself soon (i do some hobby photo work as well as web dev, sys admin, etc)

James

3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

A 15" should be sufficient although 17" would be better.

FJ

4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user