15" Macbook Pro with Retina... Everything's going wrong. Help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BenIsFTW, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. BenIsFTW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    #1
    Hi everybody!

    Just for some background information, I currently have two Macbook Pros. My old one with all my files on it, is a Mid-2009 Macbook Pro 15", running El Capitan, and my recently purchased and received (less than 36 hours ago) 15" Macbook Pro with a Retina Display (1TB HD, 2.5Ghz) running Yosemite. I had brought it into the Apple store to downgrade it from El Capitan, because none of the programs or hardware I use my laptop with for work, were compatible with the new OS.

    Upon trying to use Migration Assistant, only about 40 gigabytes of my files are transferring, out of the 300 something left from my old laptop. What should I do? I don't have time to order a FireWire cable online, no Apple Stores or Best Buys carry them around me, and I don't know what to do. All my important files are still on my old laptop, and yet they wont transfer, especially my music...

    So far, I've had the error message saying something along the lines of "Some documents or files could not be transferred" twice after Migration Assistant says that it's completed.

    In need of help ASAP please! I'm working a corporate event and running audio/video, and without my new files on this Macbook... I am absolutely screwed. Thanks!
     
  2. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #2
    Hello,

    Regardless of whether you're transferring from your laptop or backup drive, if you can't get the files to copy, just copy them manually. You can use the Time Machine utility to transfer app configs and stuff like that later, but I assume it isn't the priority for you now. If the files turn out to be corrupted, I guess it's too bad, but there's nothing to do about that. If that's the case, you could use a software like CCC (carbon copy clone) which will only transfer files that aren't broken.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. BenIsFTW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    #3
    I also don't have a Time Machine backup, as I don't own a Time Capsule. My main priority is to get some of my critical files to transfer, but I'm unsure why out of my 300 something gigs, only 30 are transferring. On my older Macbook, I can still open and view them, but Migration Assistant isn't transferring them...
     
  4. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #4
    Actually, the Time Machine utility is not necessarily for Time Capsule backups, it's for any backup drive that uses Time Machine. So, as I expected, you're using the Migration Assistant. Are you transferring the files directly from the old computer using Thunderbolt or are you transferring the file from a TM backup of that said computer? I assume the former. Anyway, as I said, try transferring large folders manually, and maybe you'll see what causes the issues. You can later use the MA to transfer settings and applications
     

Share This Page