15" MBP 2012 9.1 & SSD in optical drive confirmation

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ptr22, Jul 19, 2013.

1. ptr22 macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I've read and tried to understand as many threads about installing an SSD into a caddy as I could tonight. I'm new to Mac and just need quick confirmation if I got it right. It would be great if somebody could help me out.

1. If Serial-ATA in the System Information says Intel 7 Series Chipset and Link Speed 6 Gigabit on both - I should get the full speed if I connect the SSD to a caddy in the optical bay, right? Because in the OWC video here it says it doesn't but people in this forum seem to be ok? Slightly confused and worried now. :confused:

http://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/macbookpro_15_unibody_mid12_dd_m/

2. OWC or generic caddy doesn't make a difference? So something like this should work but why is the 2012 MBP not mentioned in the list though?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/eSynic®-Uni...ie=UTF8&qid=1374286414&sr=1-3&keywords=eSynic

3. A Samsung 840 Series Pro 256GB is a good choice for a MBP? I need to record lots of audio to it (concerts 30min-2hrs) and can't go for a normal HD due to vibrations in the venues.

Thanks!

2. Binomio macrumors member

1. Link Speed is the maximum speed that port will support. If you get the right drive, it will fully utilize the 6G, some drives use 3G. optical drives use 1.5G.
    2. Early 2011, Late 2011 and Mid 2012 15" MBPs are almost identical so any caddy for a 2011 should fit a 2012.
    3. Samsung 840 is great, I have the 128 SSD. Though I think the drive will run out space quickly, might want to invest in a bigger external drive to move files.

Also what do you have installed in the main HDD bay? Most people install a SSD on the main bay and leave the caddy for a bigger HDD.

3. wonderspark macrumors 68030

wonderspark