Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PFDarkside

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 9, 2010
Newbie here. :rolleyes: This thread is me putting my thoughts down and if you are so kind, looking for a little feedback.

I've been waiting to buy a new Macbook Pro since early January, I was following the Buyer's guide (and like most here) expecting a refresh in February. Since then I thought I had decided on a 13" (plus SSD and maxed RAM) but the lack of screen real estate and integrated GPU only is making me question my decision. I love the portability of a 13" though...

This will be my first Mac and first laptop ever... I'll be using it for Aperture and maybe Logic along with couch surfing, coffee shop surfing, etc. Now that the day is drawing near I'm wondering if a 13" is really the solution. Is a 15" a good compromise between portability and performance or will I be disappointed with both aspects? I had a crazy thought to shoot for the 17" and build a Dell Mini Hackintosh on top of it for the couch surfing. Hmm...

(The problem with trying out laptops at the store is that they all feel small and portable, next to the massive displays it feels like a 17" is the only option, the smaller ones feel like toys! I know from toting around the work lappy that a 13" is very convienient from a portability standpoint)

So, photo editing, some recording, and web browsing from a desk to couch to venturing into the wild, will a 13" dusappoint from a performance and resolution standpoint? Is a 15" a great compromise or the worst of both worlds? Would a 17" plus Hackintosh netbook fulfill my needs?

alskdj

macrumors member
Oct 8, 2009
15" is a lousy compromise IMO, bump res up and then I would consider it ;) IMO, 17" for work, 13" for portability. No middle ground :p

jjahshik32

macrumors 603
Sep 4, 2006