15" MBP buying advice :)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by forgetaboutpro, Jun 23, 2009.

1. forgetaboutpro macrumors member

I'm not sure if someone has already posted a similar question but I tried searching and found nothing, so here goes...

I currently own a 2ghz Core duo MBP, and use it predominantly with adobe cs3 (I am a graphic designer) and lightroom (and am a keen photographer too). I do lots of heavy photoshop work so could really benefit from the added speed of a new machine. I've upgraded my current MBP as far as it can go, swapped out the drive to a 320gb 7200 rpm drive and have 2gb of ram in it - so there is not really much more i can do.

I have been following this site for years, reading the rumors and closely watching the buyers guide etc. but have now reached a point where as I'm unsure in there being any point in waiting any longer. My two main questions/reservations are:

1. Will the arrandale processors make a massive difference in speed performance or will they just be more power efficient? If it is power then i'm not that concerned.

2. I would love it if they offered the 15inch with antiglare screen coating - do you think there is any likelihood of this happening in the near future?

I realise the second question is completely up for speculation but i've thought it over 100 times in my head and a little external advice would be much appreciated!

Oh, and the new MBP I'm looking to purchase is the 2.8ghz model - obviously this will be an improvement over my current machine but how much better is it likely to get with the addition of an arrandale processor?

I know this is all up to opinion but thats what I'm looking for! I can wait but am getting a bit bored of waiting too :)

Thanks guys, phil

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

1. Yes, Arrandales will be a lot faster

2. It's possible, but unlikely. Glossy isn't so bad

Current MBPs are very fast but if you can wait, wait.