15" MBP - One Firewire input?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by sammyman, May 9, 2007.

  1. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #1
    How do people record using a 15" MBP? With only one firewire 400 imput, you can only plug in your interface (I have a firebox) and then you are toast. No external hard drive, no nothing! Just interested how you work with this?
     
  2. Cybix macrumors 6502a

    Cybix

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    #2
    with a firewire hub?

    It's a notebook remember....
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I use a firewire hub and that works fine for me.
     
  4. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    If you have a C2D MBP you also have a FW800 port which is backwards compatible with FW400... just in case you don't want to use a hub for some reason.
     
  5. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
  6. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #6
    Firewire audio devices have two firewire ports on the back. So you can chain firewire devices together. You don't need another port on the computer.
     
  7. Dronomophone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    #7
    You can daisy chain firewire, so why would you need a hub?
     

Share This Page