15" MBP - Suitable to replace 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by matt_on_a_mtn, Apr 4, 2016.

1. matt_on_a_mtn Suspended

Currently I have a 27" iMac - a 2013 base model, as well as an 11" MacBook Air (maxed 2013 model).

I work full time in the design field, and rely heavily on Photoshop, Rapidweaver, Pixelmator, and Xcode, in addition to things like Safari, Mail, and Messages on the less intensive side.

I've used the current combo I have for a couple years with mixed success. More than once I've kicked myself for not keeping the two machines in sync to each other, and missing a project on one or the other. Both have served my needs - although the Air just barely with the screen being both small and low res. Mobility is only occasionally important, but when it is it's a fairly big deal.

I'm currently considering moving to a current model 15" MacBook Pro, and selling both the iMac and Air. Can any others with similar needs chime in on whether or not it's a good option? In the long run I know it will actually be cheaper for a machine that's significantly more powerful than the iMac, but I'm worried that the lack of the large screen will be hard to adjust to.

Is it a smart move, or should I stick with my current setup? Any advice would be appreciated!

2. shoehornhands macrumors regular

I'm guessing a 15" MacBook Pro will be a bit faster than the 2013" base iMac for most tasks. I believe the 2013 iMac has an i5 processor, 8GB of memory, and I'm not even sure the base model had an SSD. The 15" MacBook Pro has an i7 (which has 8 threads, vs 4 threads in the i5), twice as much memory, and if your iMac does in fact have a spinner, the SSD in the MacBook Pro will make a world of difference.

My recommendation would be to get a 2014 15" MacBook Pro (as opposed to the newest model). You can still get a brand new 2014 15" MBP with the dedicated GPU, 512GB SSD and 2.5GHz i7 process for under $2000.