15" pb g4 internal drive and ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vickg, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. vickg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #1
    hi im new and i've had my Powerbook g4 for about more then a year and the internal harddrive is almost full (5 gb left) and i was looking into expanding the harddrive..so whats the difference between serial ata and ata?? in system profile its shows in ata my harddrive...
    TOSHIBA MK8026GAX:

    Capacity: 74.53 GB
    Model: TOSHIBA MK8026GAX
    Revision: PA005B
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Protocol: ATA
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    OS9 Drivers: No
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    VICK:
    Capacity: 74.41 GB
    Available: 5.63 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s3
    Mount Point: /
    after stating that..can i put a serial ata??(http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Hitachi/0A53487/) if so how?? also whats the highest ram i can expand my ram to?? ive tried searching the topic everywhere but found none so plz help:confused:
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    Wait.

    Do not buy a SATA drive, cuase you can't install them in a PB.
    They're not compatible. Basically, the connector port is completely different.

    Your PowerBook G4 uses PATA drives, or otherwise known as IDE.
    The maximum size you can have fitted is 250Gb.

    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=314
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  4. vickg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #4
    i know this is a dumb question but if i change the harddrive do i have to install tiger again?? ive never changed the drive before so im just wondering also is there any way i can copy the old hd and put it on the new on once i get it all started or do i have to start all over?? would i be able to install leopard??
     
  5. dtklamf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Yes, you would. If you decide to change the internal harddrive, everything on the system will be removed once you take it out, though it's not erased. New harddrives never include software.
     

Share This Page