15" retina MacBook Pro or wait for 13"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rhys092, Oct 3, 2012.

1. rhys092 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, I've read through the forums for years but this is my first time posting so go easy on me :p

Anyway, my dilemma is I am wanting to and have the funds to purchase a new mac but can't decide what to buy. I am set on buying a Macbook Pro to replace my current iMac + iPad combo (some say it is a good idea but I don't like it, would rather one device that is both a computer & portable).

I've heard the rumours that a 13inch version of the retina MacBook Pro will likely release later this month. This would be great as it would be portable and powerful. However I'm not sure that the 13inch version will be powerful enough for my needs but I thought the 15inch would be too big, heavy and not that portable.

I would be using it to:
    -Use for university to write assignments and use excel/MYOB for accounting
    -Take to class to write notes
    -A lot of multitasking with multiple different programs and windows open
    -Emailing and browsing the internet with multiple tabs open
    -Playing music & HD video through iTunes
    -When at home I always have a 32" 1080p TV connected as an external display
    -A small amount of video converting
    -Downloading music and videos
    -Sometimes using VMware Fusion to boot windows
    -I don't do a massive amount of gaming. Most frequent game would be Borderlands 2 through steam and probably also SimCity 2013 next year. I do have Battlefield 3 and X-plane but don't really play them.
    -And lastly I want a laptop that won't be outdated soon, something I can hang onto for 2 years

Can anyone make any suggestions? Anyone who currently uses a 15inch rMBP shed some light on its portability and everyday usability? I am worried the 13" will only have integrated Intel HD 4000 graphics and I'm not sure that will cover my current needs/ might be useless next year?