15" rMBP 2.3 GHz vs. 2.6 GHz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bmunge, Nov 16, 2012.

1. bmunge macrumors regular

I'm looking at getting the rMBP and I'm debating the processor upgrade. On one hand it seems like a decent upgrade in clock speed for a decent price, but I'm unsure what the real world applications are. I'm an app developer and game a bit, would I even notice the difference?

2. zackkmac macrumors 6502a

I went from the 2.3 to the 2.7 model (both 16GB RAM) and never noticed the difference. I don't really think it's worth it unless you know you'll need it and have the extra money for it. If price isn't a concern for you then get it, you'll have better resell value when you sell it later.

3. pasadena macrumors 6502a

pasadena

My take is that if you really needed it, you'd know it. It takes a lot to go to the limit of a 2.3GHz quad-cores... So unless you know you use CPU-heavy appications, like heavy video editing, keep the money. You'll notice the difference in your wallet much more than the difference in your laptop ;-)

4. ssn637 macrumors 6502

I went for the 2.3 GHz because battery life was more important than power. But anandTech claims that scrolling issues can be improved by opting for the 2.7 GHz system, since single-threaded frequencies are higher.

5. zipur macrumors 6502

So how do you feel about your battery life now?

6. do1984 macrumors member

I've noticed no difference from my 2.3 model to a 2.7 model from a friend in the applications I usually use (Autocad 2013, regular browsing/e-mail). Maybe it makes some difference in gaming. But I guess the upgrade price doesn't worth it.

7. Brian Y macrumors 68040

I went for the 2.6 - it felt like the best "bang for buck" choice.

8. ssn637 macrumors 6502