iPad 15" rMBP + iPad combination

Discussion in 'iPad' started by yaymath, Oct 19, 2013.

1. yaymath macrumors regular

I will soon be getting a 15" rMBP and I was thinking of also getting an iPad (probably the full-size one), once the new one comes out. I am worried, however, that my iPad would not get much use to justify the price.

I am a college student and I have to do a lot of readings, many of which are in PDF format. iPad seems perfect for that, but I can also read on the rMBP. Also, how much easier is it to annotate on the iPad compared to Mac?

I was also thinking of using my iPad as a second display for my rMBP using Air Display when I am at my desk. I do not have enough space for an actual external monitor, nor do I have the money for a display whose resolution would match that of the rMBP. Using an iPad as a second display would add about 45% screen space, so I would be able to have three windows open rather than two.

The iPad is also more portable that the rMBP and I would be able to take it with be at those times when I cannot bring my rMBP.

So, I would use an iPad for textbooks and other readings, as a second display and to substitute my rMBP when I cannot have it with me. Is it worth getting an iPad to accompany a rMBP, based on my needs? Also, what do you use an iPad for?

2. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

sonicrobby

I had an iPad for school purposes, once I got the 15" rMBP, I rarely use my iPad anymore. Because Im in engineering, I find myself needing full autocad, MS word, and just overall better multitasking, which the iPad cant do. What I do use my iPad for is when I have that 1 class a day when I need my textbook, but dont feel like dragging my rMBP along for that one class.