15" rMBP - Is 8GB RAM enough for this usage?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacLifer, Oct 30, 2012.

1. MacLifer macrumors member

Ok, so I have finally convinced myself to go with the 15" rMBP over the 13" rMBP.

Right now I have a 2010 13" MBA (4 GB RAM) and a 2009 27" iMac (12 GB RAM). In the end, the 15" may replace both, but it is for sure replacing my 13" MBA right away.

My travel scheduled has diminished drastically as of late, so portability is not really an issue. Thus, I went with more of the desktop replacement that is the 15" vs. the 13". If I get rid of my iMac, I will probably buy a 27" display down the line to connect the rMBP too.

I have decided to go with the base 2.3Ghz i7 + 256 GB SSD, noting the minimal increase in performance for the processor upgrade and the possibility of upgrading the SSD myself in the future.

Where I am getting stuck is the RAM. My primary applications are:

RapidWeaver
    Coda 2
    MAMP
    Parallels w/ Windows 7 (and soon 8)
    Office 2011
    xCode

.. and the basics of iTunes, Safari, Mail, etc.

I do very little video editing, other than the occasional of stitching together videos and photos in iMovie for a family year-in-review sort of thing.

On my MBA with 4GB, running Parallels drags the machine pretty nicely and the fan runs like a jet airliner.

I figure Parallels with 8 GB RAM, along with the quad-core i7 (as opposed to the Core 2 Duo of the MBA) will run much better. But, of course, it is guaranteed to run even better with 16GB RAM :)

Given my usage described above, do you think 16GB would be worth my while? I can afford it, but, if it is not going to help me in the 2-3 years I expect to use this laptop before selling it, I would, of course, rather use the extra savings for AppleCare or something.

I would appreciate any opinion you may have. Thanks.

2. bill-p macrumors 65816

How often do you use Parallels? If it's on a regular basis, definitely invest in 16GB.