15in MBP protection gear

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by intensee, Jun 28, 2009.

1. intensee macrumors newbie

hey so i just bought my new MBP today and im excited but i want to keep it as new as possible (can already see some grease getting on the keyboard). Now i know some of you will go on and say that protection gear is stupid and perhaps a sleeve is just good enough but i'm still a college student and my parents bought this laptop for me and expect it to last for a very long time.

so basically for sure i'm getting the incase sleeve, a keyboard cover/palmguard cover, and maybe the speck hard case or a bestskinsever cover?

do you guys know any good keyboard/palmguard covers that work for the new MBP? right now i'm looking at the moshi one and it looks pretty promising

for the palm (http://store.apple.com/us/product/TW022LL/A?fnode=MTY1NDA2Nw&mco=Njk5OTAwMg&p=1&s=topSellers)

keypad (http://www.amazon.com/Moshi-ClearGuard-Macbook-Keyboard-Protector/dp/B001QKI2DA/ref=pd_cp_e_2)

i heard, however, that the trackpad cover that comes with the moshi palmguard isnt that good since it lowers sensitivity. so how's the durability on these trackpads if i don't put one on?

then i don't know if i should get the speck hardcase or just a bestofskins cover. what do you guys think?

and yes i know it's probably excessive but i just really want to take good care of it!

2. thebassoonist macrumors 6502a

thebassoonist

I bought this and I love it.

I used to have a Speck hard case and liked it but for my MBP's 1 year anniversary I removed it. :)

3. intensee thread starter macrumors newbie

i'm thinking of getting the speck hard case but i don't know whether i should get the clear one that scratches up easily or the black satin one that doesn't. the downside of the black one is that it no longer has that alu look to it :(

4. xhambonex macrumors 6502a