16:10 display with Warcraft 3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by haiggy, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I was looking into getting a bigger monitor for my MBP. Does anyone have any experience with Warcraft 3 (RoC and TFT) with a 16:10 monitor? I know OS X supports Warcraft 3 in widescreen (16:9) as I am running it on my MBP but is it possible to run it on say a 22" display with 16:10 and no black bars on either the top or sides of the monitor?
    Thanks so much!
     
  2. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #2
    My guess is that you could get it to be fullscreen, but it'd just stretch at the sides slightly. I know the Windows version of WC3 does this even for the usual widescreen resolutions -- built-in widescreen support was actually native only to the Mac version. If the slight stretching would bother you, I think you might be SOL, but the widescreen stretching on the Windows version didn't bother me much even when I was used to the Mac version.
     
  3. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    I don't know of any Mac sold with a 16:9 screen. You mentioned that you run it on your MBP. All MBP's have 16:10 screens. Do you currently have black bars?
     
  4. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #4
    I completely spaced out the fact that I'm sitting in front of a 16:9 monitor right now (1920x1080 Dell). I just fired up WC3 and can confirm that it's got a 1920x1080 entry, so you're good to go (I normally play on my 1920x1200 iMac).
     
  5. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Sorry,
    I should clarify. I'm meaning to purchase a 24" 16:10 display (1900x1200) and was wondering if Warcraft 3 would support it in widescreen mode (I don't want the black bars!) And apparently seeing as the 24" iMac has this resolution... that answers my question.

    Currently when I play it on my MBP with its 16:9 display it's stretched and that is how I like it/prefer to play it now that I've gotten used to it from the old days of the 4:3 displays.

    I was just seeing if it would support 1900x1200 natively using the entire screen. I saw some people talking about having to use Regedit on windows to change the registry values for the resolution... but I guess yeah, TFT for Mac automatically allows for a widescreen resolution set up.

    Thanks for the help!

    Edit: DOH! MBPs are 16:10? Wow, I'm pretty stupid :( Guess this answers my question as well. Thanks. Feelin' pretty slow today :)
     

Share This Page