Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yoav Namir

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2020
Hi all, after much consideration and disappointment that the 14' hasn't arrived, I've decided to go for the 16'.

I'm considering getting the i9 8 core, 32gb ram, 5500 4gb, 1tb
Do you think that as an app developer I'll feel any benift from upgrading to the 2.4 i9?
And about the graphic card, if I want to game every now and then, should I go for the 8gb one? Or is the 4gb good enough?

Thank you!

MrGimper

macrumors G3
Sep 22, 2012
Andover, UK
Save the 200 on the 2.4 and spend half of it on the 8GB VRAM. I had a 2.4 with 32GB and swapped it for the 2.3 with 64 GB. Both with 8GB VRAM. Geekbench benchmarks were so close between the two processors it’s not worth the money IMO.

Reactions: Henk Poley

SawThings

macrumors newbie
Mar 19, 2020
Save the 200 on the 2.4 and spend half of it on the 8GB VRAM. I had a 2.4 with 32GB and swapped it for the 2.3 with 64 GB. Both with 8GB VRAM. Geekbench benchmarks were so close between the two processors it’s not worth the money IMO.
I agree with the above..

Yoav Namir

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2020

Thanks!

What do think the 8gb vram worth it?
Where will I say the improvement?

iandk

macrumors regular
Aug 10, 2019
Are you doing some gaming, video rendering or working with 3D models?
Otherwise you wont notice a difference.

recoil80

macrumors 68040
Jul 16, 2014
I'm an app developer, as I needed the laptop asap to work from home during the pandemic I couldn't wait the extra shipping time to build a custom configuration, so I went for the higher tier with the i9.
If you're on low budget, those are the priorities I'd have:
1. RAM (16 are enough but 32 better if you run virtual machines)
2. storage (512 is good enough actually, but 1TB will be ok for years)
3. CPU
4. GPU