16 GBs of RAM anyone??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TommyStarwind, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. TommyStarwind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    #1
  2. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #2
    Do a search and you will find that several people have been running 16 GBs of RAM.
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    Yes, hundreds have done it, it has been known that the MBP's can take 16Gb of ram ever since they got the sandy bridge processors, about a year ago.
     
  4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Depends on what year of MBP.
    2011 15in MBP can go up to 16GB (for 2.0GHz)
    Any other high spec can handle up to 32GB.
     
  5. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #5
    Wait, some MBPs can take 32 GB of RAM?!
     
  6. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    I think where we're at with that is that supposedly the Intel docs say it's supported. No one that I'm aware of has touched a 16gb DIMM to try to see if it works.
     
  7. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #7
    16GB dims are hell expensive right now.

    16gb for a laptop is "enough" unless you're really needing to crunch a lot of data on your laptop. in which case, you're probably using the wrong machine....

    I suspect it will be quite some time before anyone tried or otherwise verifies that 32gb will work...
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Its officially told on intel page that 2.2GHz i7 2720M and up can hold 32GB RAM.
     
  9. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    To be sure, can my 13" i7 handle 16GB?
     
  10. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #10
    Do you really think you need 16GB for a running a few VMs.
    I run my Windows VM with 2GB and that is all it needs for the stuff I use it for. A Linux Server VM may need even less. Depending on what is running and the rather limited processing speed of the MBP compared to a real AWS server and the tasks of testing stuff you really don't need much RAM for it. Often 512MB is just fine as KDE,Gnome and what not is a waste anyway.

    I see a use for 8GB but you'd need to run quite a few VMs in parallel to need 16GB as a developer. Most dev software doesn't need a whole lot of RAM like some Video/Music or Photo editing software can suck.

    8GB is cheap now. 16GB will be in a year as cheap as 8 now. For software dev I really don't see much use for 16GB. It is just a waste of money imo.
     
  11. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #11
    I'm running 16GB in my early 2011 MBP right now. $106 at Fry's
     
  12. Back2kcaB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #12
    I have 16GB on a 2011 MBP but ever since the upgrade it seems because I have more available memory the system utilizes more even though my usage has not changed.
     
  13. Redbookpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #13
    One of my dell "laptops" (it's more like a mobile desktop) has four memory slots, and goes to 32 GB with the i7 mobile chipset. It's an amazing little powerhouse. It would be pretty cool if the new ivy bridge laptops had 4 slots.
     
  14. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #14

    Oh wow! Thanks guys! Now I can look forward to a 16 GB DIMM...I imagine that is a long way away though...
     
  15. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #15
    I got a 17" MBP for xmas and I ordered 2x 8GB ram chips before it even got here :)

    It runs like a champ with several scientific apps, 2 VM's and video processing in the background, all at the same time...... AND ........

    it runs w7 ultimate way better & faster than my boss's new XPS too !

    whodathunkit :eek:
     
  16. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    Since the 16GB (8x8) is still around 100USD, it should be more pricey.
    My guess is it would come out sometime this or next year... but the price wont go down for another couple years :(
     
  17. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #17
    That's ok. Imagine how the ones feel here that ran out and got the 8gb DIMMS when they hit the market. OWC was selling them @$1600 a pair. I bought mine for $120 and see them touching $100 now on sale.
     
  18. Warhawk15 macrumors regular

    Warhawk15

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    #18
    After a quick search...
    http://www.provantage.com/cisco-systems-nam2220-dimm-16gb~7CSC93T2.htm

    I only checked a few other sites, but they were all 2x8gb so I gave up and just posted this.
    I wonder how much that'll cost in 2 years.
    Notice the price tag... "only $2564.50" :D
     
  19. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #19
    Hmm but this is SDRAM DIMM and not DDR3 which would be more expensive...
    I say more than 3000USD currently, if it even exists, but it won't go down for another 5 years lol
     
  20. Bwa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Boston & San Jose
    #20
    I upgraded the 15" I bought in December 2011 to 16 gb; works great.
     

Share This Page