16, I plan on filming Youtube Skits with my Canon T3i, I have some questions.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Viantef, Apr 1, 2014.

1. Viantef macrumors member

I'm just getting into Filmmaking/Videography, sorry for "noob" questions.

I have a budget of $250 to spend on a lens, what do you recommend?
    Aside from Youtube Skits, whatever lens you recommend, could I ever use it professionally, like filming a commercial for a small business or church?

Last question, could I use the lens you're going to recommend for Music Videos? My friends have a little "rap group" and they'd like me to shoot their first music video.

Equipment I have:
    Canon T3i (Kit Lens 18-55)
    MacBook Air
    May get a Rode VideoMic "Go", would an on camera shotgun mic be fine for skits?

Thanks!

2. matteusclement macrumors 65816

matteusclement

That lens is fine, I used it for this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3tJYNsq5bQ

Use the 250 for lighting and sound.

Get a 5in1 reflector: http://www.amazon.ca/CowboyStudio-C...d=1396377778&sr=1-4&keywords=5+in+1+reflector

you can use the black as a background on tight shots / interviews.
    The diffuser helps in really sunny shots.
    It's invaluable. I bought the big one to cover my worklights I use:
    http://www.rona.ca/en/tripod-halogen-worklamp

then get a monopod. use that with the zoom h1... then you have a boom mic.

there is your 250 on good lighting and decent sound. \

3. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

AcesHigh87

A good lens with large aperture (1.8 or better) would be good but I agree with the above: Lighting and Sound.

A lack of good lens will only really hurt your depth of field. That's important, I'll admit, but it's workable. Built-in Audio is not workable at all. DSLR audio is completely worthless.