16 or 32 GB ram put in to the MacBooks?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sprague34, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. Sprague34 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #1
    Just wondering why they can't or are not putting the 16 GB or 32 GB ram in any Macs since they put it in ipods and iPhones? I know that Snow Leopard can support up to what like 16 Terrabytes? They are cheap! So why not?
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    The 'memory' in iPhones is storage like the hard drive in your desktop, not like the RAM.
     
  3. Sprague34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #3
    Is it slower?
     
  4. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    Hard drives are literally thousands of times slower than the RAM of today.
     
  5. Sprague34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    #5
    I know that. But dont ipods use Flash memory?
     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    Yes.

    OKay, there are two types of 'memory' on computers: RAM which is used by your running programs, and 'storage' to store all your music/pictures/movies etc.

    Storage can refer to flash memory (like SD cards, MemorySticks, compact flash etc) or hard drives, or Solid State Drives (SSDs).
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Flash memory is incredibly slow compared to actual system ram. Flash memory is what they use in SSD drives, and even then, its only a few times faster than hard drives and no where near real system ram speeds.
     
  8. Nocturnal22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #8

    HAHAHAHA silly kid.
     
  9. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #9
    The latest Macbooks use DDR3 RAM. DDR3 is NOT cheap. Just a 2GB SODIMM is only about $40, but once you get to 4GB DDR3 SODIMM the prices jump to over $300 for whatever reason. I am not aware of any SODIMM available in greater capacity than 4GB and the Macbooks only have 2 SODIMM slots, so the max you can put in them right now is 8GB.

    If you're doing some sort of task where you actually require 16+ GB of RAM you WOULDN'T be doing that task on a laptop of any kind. You'd be doing the processing on a very high end desktop or some sort of clustered computer setup.
     
  10. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #10
    Give it 2 years and I think there will be 8GB SO DIMMS and laptops supporting them.
     
  11. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    grow up
     
  12. mattais macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #12
  13. HunterGather macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #13
    hahahaha silly kid.
     
  14. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #14
    Hahhahaa silly rabbit.
     
  15. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #15
    I am sure all those offended by the silly question have never ever asked stupid questions themselves.
     
  16. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    RAM does not equal Flash memory...

    By the way, what you are talking about does exist in the current MacBooks and MBP's. They're called SSD's, or hard drives made from some sort of flash memory. I think you can put one that's up to 256 Gigabytes if I'm not mistaken.
     

Share This Page