1600 Mhz RAM in a 2011 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mbrown9412, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. mbrown9412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #1
  2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #2
    The thread you post already tells you everything what other confirmation do you need.
    You do know it doesn't make any kind of noticeable speed difference. Unless it doesn't cost anymore than the 1333 I wouldn't bother. The only upgrade worth with RAM imo would DDR3L but Sandy doesn't support it yet afaik.
     
  3. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #3
    16 GB should work in all Sandy Bridge Macs.

    Regarding the "faster" RAM:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=13327652&#post13327652
     
  4. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #4
    *sigh* here we go again...
    Intel CLEARLY STATES that only the high-end 15" and the 17" supports 1600Mhz.
    Those 2 models are the only ones to support 16GB RAM as well.

    2.2Ghz & 2.3Ghz:
    http://ark.intel.com/products/50067/Intel-Core-i7-2720QM-Processor-(6M-Cache-2_20-GHz)
    http://ark.intel.com/products/52227

    2.0Ghz Quad Core
    http://ark.intel.com/products/52219

    The 13" cannot use 16GB RAM to their fullest capacities and clocks 1600Mhz RAM at 1333Mhz.

    If you're going to argue that 13" and 15" low end MBPs can use 1600Mhz and 16GB RAM, pics or it didn't happen. Until then, I'm sticking with Intel ARK.
     
  5. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #5
    That's what I have in my 2011 15" 2.2 Ghz MBP and it has no issues. What sucked is I paid $110 for it about two months ago.
     
  6. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    The 2.2GHz and 2.3GHz Quad-Core i7s support both 1600MHz RAM and up to 16GB capacities.

    The 2.3 GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7, and 2.0GHz Quad-Core i7 support up to 1333MHz RAM and up to 8GB capacities.
     
  7. mbrown9412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #7
    Ok, thanks for the info!

    Alright, I guess it would be more worth it to go for the 1333.

    Although, I would use this mainly for demanding programs (Aperture, Minecraft, Steam), at which point the 6MB cache would clearly run out. at this point, would the 1600Mhz be worth it?

    ----------

    And I have the high end 15 inch, with the 2.2 Ghz, for anyone who was wondering.

    ----------

    Also, as for using 16GB of RAM, is that per slot, or total? (I assume total). Would it be best then to use 2x8GB modules?
     
  8. mbrown9412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #8
    Quite honestly, where do I find a 16GB RAM kit, that's not 4x4GB? I've looked everywhere. Part of it could be that I'm still looking for 1600Mhz, but I've looked for 1333 as well.
     
  9. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #9
    Not a kit, but I prefer individual sticks anyway for warranty purposes:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/8GB-DDR3-13...ultDomain_0&hash=item336bb27d75#ht_500wt_1180

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233216

    -May check the Newegg one out once it comes back into stock, since it just appeared on there maybe 4 days ago.
     
  10. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #10
  11. ct2k7, Sep 11, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011

    ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #11
    macsales.com

    I'll be waiting until next year, as I don't have an immediate need, by 64GB MacPro serves the high RAM applications.

    http://www.ramexperts.com/corsair-c...pin-ddr3-so-dimm-ddr3-1333-laptop-memory.html
     
  12. mbrown9412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    #12
    Those look alright, I'll have to get those.

    My god, man - Do you have anything that actually uses all of that? And is OSX/Your Processor(s) able to actually use all of that?
     
  13. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #13
    Yep, custom applications, I've written ,for super-calculations.
     
  14. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #14
    Calm down! You behave like a little child.

    The EFI controls the RAM speed, and Apple writes the EFI, not Intel.

    Based on your fantasies?

    It is not like they update these databases every day.

    Each of i3, i5 and i7 series has the same memory controller, AFAIK. So, for example all i5 models should be able to use the same RAM.

    And regarding Intels database:
    They wrote the database entries approximately 3-6 months before they released the appropriate CPUs. That means they did not have the 2x8GB RAM modules which exist today, but they planned ahead. I'm sure they will update the other database entries soon. In the meantime, you can check the OWC website:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333DDR3S16P/
    They list the "low end" 2.3 GHz base frequency 13" MBP model as one of the supported configs.

    Do you still insist on your obviously wrong information?
     
  15. Prodo123, Sep 11, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011

    Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #15
    Again, pics or it didn't happen.
    AFAIK software support is nothing if hardware doesn't support it. So, even though the EFI may control the clock speed of RAM, as long as hardware does not support it, the RAM will not run at its full speed.
    Also, AFAIK the HD 3000 is marketed as the same IGP, but performs differently depending on the processor that it's integrated into. I believe that also applies to the memory controller as well.
    And I don't fantasize, there's no need to. I have a 15" and don't like 13" laptops. :)

    OWC also says that their SATA-III SSDs are compatible with MacBooks dating back as far as 2006. Obviously those laptops wouldn't be able to take advantage of the SSD speed. The same applies to the 13"; although marketed as compatible, the 13" will not be able to take advantage of the full potential of 16GB 1600Mhz RAM.

    I have yet to see a 2011 13" with 16GB RAM. The day I do will be the day you say "I told you so."
     
  16. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #16
    Well, your 16" isn't going to ram anything anytime soon.
     
  17. Prodo123, Sep 11, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011

    Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #17
    Jesus christ, what's with all of these typos these days...
    I know, Lion's auto correct!
    Fixed :p

    and who said it won't? ;)
     
  18. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #18
    hehee
     
  19. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #20
  20. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #21
    The EFI cannot extend functionality beyond the physical capabilities of the hardware. If what you say were true, Apple could've enabled the original 2008 MBP models to support 1600MHz RAM with a single firmware update.
     

Share This Page