1600 MHz ram not working in 2011 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zepharus, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    Anyone have any luck running 1600mhz ram? I'm using these and they are showing up as 1333mhz. Thoughts?

    Yes sir.

    Just ordered these coming from Amazon

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004Y4XAAK

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #2
    The 2011 iMac doesn't support 1600MHz RAM, only 1333MHz..
     
  3. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #3
    Well for one, the new iMacs don't utilize 1600mhz RAM. I have read folks on these forums who are able to successfully use 1600mhz memory, but the iMac will automatically throttle it down to 1333mhz no matter what.

    But not sure why your memory won't work. I would just stick to 1333mhz.
     
  4. zepharus thread starter macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #4
    It works but throttles down to 1333

    So how can the MBPs run at 1600?
     
  5. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #5
    Because the mobile chips support 1066/1333/1600, and the desktop ones only support 1066/1333.

    i7-2720QM (2.2GHz i7 used in upgraded 15" MBP/base 17" MBP)
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=50067

    i7-2600 (3.4GHz used in CTO 27" iMac)
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=52213

    I'm actually somewhat surprised by this as well. Oh well. I wouldn't change my 2600 for the 2820 for the slight memory bandwidth boost in lieu of the higher CPU performance.
     
  6. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6

    And could it be because you actually have use for the power behind the iMac/desktop vs. a MBP/mobile computer?
     
  7. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #7
    The iMac only supports 1333mhz, but at least these modules will run at CL7 instead of CL9 (not that anyone could notice the difference, though). ;)
     
  8. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #8
    That's correct.
     
  9. yashrg macrumors regular

    yashrg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #9
  10. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #10
    Just a thought....

    My late 2009 iMac runs fine with 1333 mhz memory even though those models only shipped with 1067 mhz memory and were only supposed to run at that. Not so!

    There's a thread here (link forthcoming) that these Macs will even will run with the 1600 mhz memory but only at 1333 mhz speed).

    See:

    [​IMG]

    My geekbench numbers improved substantially with this type of memory and I felt some improved "snappiness" of the machine afterwards but that probably was from going to 16 gigabytes.
     
  11. iMacoo7 macrumors 6502

    iMacoo7

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Destin, Florida
    #11
    You can infect run 1600 on a machine that takes 1300 and it is a bit faster, although the system will down throttle to the 1300
     

Share This Page