16GB 1.1.3 OOB Using O2 Non-iPhone Sim - Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by benjones, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. benjones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I am still within the 14 day return period for my 8GB 1.1.2 OOB iPhone and I would like to swap it for the new 16GB version. Having searched the usual forums for hours I can't seem to find out an answer to this question:

    If I jailbreak an OOB 1.1.3 phone will a non-iPhone O2 sim work (as it does currently on my 1.1.2) - does the lockdownd fix help?

    Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: Was just thinking, what about if I use one of these Turbo/Stealth sims too - would that work on a jailbroken OOB 1.1.3?
     
  2. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Turbo/Stealth SIMs don't work with OOTB 1.1.3.

    However, you just might get away with your SIM the way it is if you can jailbrake OOB 1.1.3. I seem to remember reading that you can downgrade and jaibrake, but I'm not sure. Anyone???

    Also, you might consider re-selling that OOTB 1.1.2. Since you normally can't unlock OOTB 1.1.3, it might soon be worth more to someone else than you paid for it.

    Good Luck!

    Update: A quick look at this thread confirms that you can jailbreak from 1.1.3 OOTB: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=422278
     
  3. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    Pretty sure you jailbreak the OOB 1.1.3 the same as the others. Its pretty easy.
     
  4. abrooks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    The OT is not asking whether it can be jailbroken, they wish to know if it can be unlocked.

    To my knowledge OOTB 1.1.3 iPhones currently have no unlock, but someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  5. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #5
    Correct.... 1.1.3 OTB box cannot be unlocked. There is no solution at present.
     
  6. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Actually, the OP is asking if his O2 UK SIM will work in a jailbroken 1.1.3 iPhone as it does in his 1.1.2 iPhone.

    For 1.1.2 it doesn't require an unlock, but simply to bypass activation using jailbreak. If it were any other carrier's SIM, yes he would have to unlock the phone.

    I don't know of anyone who's tested it, but in all likelyhood it will still work. Since the SIM is from the same carrier as the phone expects and jaibreaking bypasses activation I'd give it a fair chance, but that's just my opinion.

    If it were me, I'd give it a try. If it doesn't work, keep the old phone and re-sell the new one.
     
  7. Geekable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #7
    For someone who has not long been contemplating this route, I find it a little confusing. If any O2 sim *does* work in a jailbroken iPhone, is it safe to upgrade firmware when released? Or will this require a re-activation bypass? It appears that just jailbreaking gives less risk of bricking the phone. Is that right?
     
  8. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    This is only safe if you upgrade using a jailbreak method. NB: I don't know of anyone who's actually tested it with the 1.1.3 baseband: either 1.1.3 OOTB or upgraded with iTunes.

    Jailbreaking bypasses the activation.

    Yes, considerably less.
     
  9. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #9
    munroe you have it exactly right - maybe explained it a little better than me!

    The reason I am so concerned is that in the Definitive 1.1.3 Jailbreak thread on this site there are a couple of people (one with an O2 PAYG sim - maybe works differently to O2 Simplicity contract sim?) that have tried the upgrade and jailbreak and they can't get any phone signal. There is also this thread on modmyifone:

    http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29873

    In the last post dakko states:

    NOTE: This will only work if you have the LEGIT ACTIVATED at&t sim card. It will not work if you swap it with another at&t sim card that is not activated with the iphone. You will not get any service at all. And itunes will give you the message with iphone is corrupted and needed repair. But those message will dissappear as soon you swap it back to your activated sim card.

    mmmmmm... do I risk it....
     
  10. Geekable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #10
    If you do, let us know! ;)

    But seriously, if it works, I'll be in the O2 store buying a sim-only (simplicity) + unlimited web contract and ordering an iPhone within the hour!
     
  11. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Hmmm,

    I'm not so sure dakko in that thread really knows what he's talking about.

    I bought a US phone, and activated the SIM through AT&T as if I had bought the SIM by itself. That allowed me to activated it on a pre-pay plan. Then I jailbroke the phone and the SIM worked just fine, all on 1.1.2. (I've since installed a TurboSIM so that I can use my O2 Ireland pre-paid SIM.)

    Each SIM card has a number in it indicating the network it belongs to. A carrier *could* have two such numbers, one for pre-paid and one for contract. AT&T obviously do not.

    If O2 did, then your SIM wouldn't work right now. The only concern with 1.1.3 is, does the baseband check in any other way? I think that's unlikely. (In case anyone is wondering O2 UK and O2 Ireland use different network numbers.)

    Please do post your results if you give it a try!
     
  12. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #12
    Right bugger it I'm off to the O2 shop :D

    Will let you all know how it goes - is the definitive 1.1.3 jailbreak guide the best one to follow do you think?
     
  13. Ged' macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #13
    Awesome, If it works I think I will have to follow suit.

    Good Luck! :D
     
  14. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Good luck with it!

    Sorry, I don't know which guide is best since I've not bothered with 1.1.3 yet.
     
  15. simplekid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #15
    it will not work, i can tell you now.

    if you upgraded your 1.1.2 otb uk iphone to 1.1.3 it is impossible to put anything other than the offical o2 sim in. im in this postion now.

    therefore an otb 1.1.3 will behave exactly the same way. it is possible to jailbreak but you've got no chance with an o2 pay as you go or anything else for that matter until they figure out how to drop the 4.6 baseband or crack the sec pack.

    it shouldnt be long hopefully. but apparently they've done a good job on the security holes this time. hopefully the sdk might provide some anwsers or solutions.
     
  16. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Are you quite sure about this? His O2 payg SIM currently works in a 1.1.2 OOTB iPhone without any sort of unlocking - simply by jailbreaking the phone and bypassing activation.

    Do you know of someone who has actually tried exactly what is described and had it fail?
     
  17. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
  18. Ged' macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #18
    Point of Interest

    I found this website a few minutes ago. Its a "status ticker" that tells you which hacks have been completed.

    One big problem I have found when browsing for information is the definition of "Unlock" and "Activate". I understand that unlock means "can be used for any mobile network", but does activate mean "useable phone which can be used for a NON-IPHONE but SAME network sim card?"
     
  19. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #19
    Ged good find. What's interesting is the activation row - it says no for both 1.1.3 columns. Is this implying that you can't activate for use with non-iPhone tarrifs? It can't mean that you can't activate as jailbreaking bypasses activation - mmm confusing.

    I have a 16gb 1.1.3 sat in a box in front of me but I'm now doubting whether its even worthwhile trying.
     
  20. Geekable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #20
    I think it is implying this, but the 'Definitive Guide' (TM) on this forums says that you can downgrade, bypass activation, then re-upgrade. It also seems to say that you want to start from the latest version anyway (step one of the guide - see edit). The guide certainly sounds optimistic.

    EDIT: the guide says upgrade to latest, downgrade, jailbreak, then use the jailbroken upgrades to 1.1.3.
    EDIT 2: Also, see this section of the guide.
     
  21. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #21
    Yes but the guide only states that you can jailbreak a 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 OOTB. This doesn't necessarily mean that you can bypass activation for non-iPhone tarrifs.

    Maybe I should just give it a go...
     
  22. Geekable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #22
    But if you're downgrading to 1.1.1 first, then you'd expect it to work that way. Anyway, if it doesn't work can't it just be restored to it's original (locked and unactivated) state? I vote for trying it (because I want to know if it works), but will not be held responsible for buggering things up!
     
  23. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    So now that it's sitting in front of you, what do you have to loose?
     
  24. benjones thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #24
    Well said :)

    I'll give it a go when the footy gets boring!
     
  25. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #25
    One must have priorities.

    Fingers crossed for you...
     

Share This Page