16GB in Mid 2010 MBP Is possible!?...Kinda

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kilo23, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. kilo23, Nov 27, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012

    kilo23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #1
    So I foolishly bought the 16 gb kit of corsair ddr3 1333 mhz thinking it would work in my 2010 MBP (intel i5, 4gb ram, nVidia 330)

    It didn't. In fact it wouldn't boot up with the ram installed, it was stuck at the grey Apple logo. I was curious because I was under the impression that even if the speed was too fast the memory would run at whatever the bus could handle. Eventually I just tried booting in safe mode, and....it worked?

    I could see all 16gb in About my mac running at 1067 mhz, which is what I expected to happen to begin with. I didnt have an internet connection at the time so I wasn't able to grab memtest and run it, but after reading other posts here many seem to think that there is a hard limit on 2010 MBP's to support 8gb only. If that were the case, it would have only recognized 8gb of it when it did boot in safe mode.

    So this whole thing is confusing me, I was about to return it and geta compatible 16 gb kit but it doesnt appear that there is one. But it also doesn't appear that there is a hard limit of 8 gb in the 2010 MBP. Can anyone verify or make an ounce of sense out of any of this? Why did 16 gb show up in safe mode?


    Much appreciated,

    Slower than I should be
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Boot with Cmd-V to get further details. There may be some way to get it working, although as stated by prisstratton the maximum amount supported by Apple is 8 GB.
     
  3. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Last I heard, the mid-2010 models had a hard limit of 8GB because of the chipset. Unless theres something else in it?
     
  4. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #5
    Not an authority, but finding posts from people who have, in some cases, been successful bumping past the 8gb ceiling to 16. The following post does state it has to be 1066, not faster. Look at 2nd post down, from RoyQ1975. Also, he states only works in 13, not 15 or 17. Luck and keep posting...

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2763468?start=45&tstart=0
     
  5. Italics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #6
    Macbook pro up to 16gb of Ram

    I would like to buy the following pre-retina model:

    2.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    500GB 5400-rpm hard drive
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 512MB of GDDR5 memory
    One Thunderbolt port
    One FireWire 800 port
    SDXC card slot
    Two USB 3 ports
    Built-in battery (7 hours)
    MD103

    and would like to know if I can up the ram to 2 x 8gb, crucail.com is suggesting I can however everyone else wants to sell me the retina.

    I would like to the buy the latest macbook pro before Retina to up my ram to 16gb and upgrade my to ssd? Any suggestions?
     
  6. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #7
    As this is a mid-2012 cMBP-13 (the latest version), it will take 16GB RAM.
     
  7. gpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    8GB for 2008 to 2010 unibody models. 16GB for 2011 and 2012 ones. Regardless of inch size.
     

Share This Page