16GB iPhone; 13.60GB Capacity

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SomeonePlzHelp, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. SomeonePlzHelp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #1
    >Purchase 16GB phone
    >Capacity 13.60 GB

    [​IMG]
    This is my 3GS that I bought back in December of 2009.
    I don't get it, what uses up over 2GB of space on my phone? The software alone can't be that much can it?

    Just looking for a quick answer or some simple input here, then feel free to let the thread die.
     
  2. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
  3. SnackyStacky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #3
    Formatted capacity is always smaller than listed capacity.

    I just got the 64G 4S. Out of the box, it's listing a 57.42G capacity.

    That's always been my experience.
     
  4. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  5. SomeonePlzHelp thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Thanks for clearing that up for me everyone. Appreciate it.
    I guess I'll be buying a 32GB iPhone 4S in December this year.
     
  6. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #6
    It is amazing that people keep asking these same questions. I love it when they sound like someone cheated them or stoled their memory
     
  7. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #7
    I look at the 57.42GB v. the 64GB as a given. Oh well...:eek:
     
  8. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #8
    It's like that for anything you buy in terms of memory. Hard drives, flash drives, same thing.
     
  9. SomeonePlzHelp thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Yeah man I really care that much, I was just curious as to what the situation was here.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #10
    why

    Why would the be such a difference between the 32gb and the 64b model, is it just a 10% difference?

    I'm thinking of upgrading to the 64gb (hopefully, I can upgrade at the store) since I already had apparently 20GB, and now only have about 8gb free (what with the photostream and HD video, it will fill up fast.)
     
  11. GodWhomIsMike macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #11
    FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU.... I should have gotten the 32GB model!!! :mad:
     
  12. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #12
    There are two things:

    1) Percentage lost due to formatting.
    2) Size of OS and built-in apps.

    The first is a percentage. The second is a fixed size and thus will have more impact on a smaller drive than a larger one.
     
  13. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #13
    I don't call people out on spelling things, but since you are trying to belittle the OP with your post. "Stoled" is definitely not a word. I love it when people are unnecessarily catty towards other people and then misspell words in their oh-so-witty responses. And yes, I do realize I am doing the same thing :)
     
  14. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #14
    I agree!

    You ARE doing the same thing!

    SHAME on you!:p
     
  15. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #15
    lol fair enough :p
     
  16. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #16
    And you shouldn't, as per forum rules:

     
  17. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #17
    Well to be fair, I was very confused when I looked at it. So, rules violation adverted.
     
  18. omgwut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #18
    Wow, so is iOS really going to take up almost 8GB of space on the 4S out of the box? That's insane. Do they advertise this anywhere? I mean I knew the memory as its formatted wouldn't be 16GB, but come on, that's almost half the drive right there! :(
     
  19. ripper998 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #19
    just like the HD of a computer, just because it says a HD is 1tb doesnt mean you actually get that much. It is a nominal size.
     
  20. 15danielp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    #20
    A simple search would've answered his question hundreds of times. I remember back in 2005 searching this forum because I had the same question about my shiny new iPod.
     
  21. yanki01 macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  22. 2010RS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #22
    If you don't know by now that formatting and software takes up space on any hard drive, then you don't deserve to have this phone.
     
  23. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    No. This is nothing new. It has been a source of confusion for years...

    See the wiki for an explanation.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigabyte
     
  24. omgwut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #24
    Oh, shut up. If you read my post I just told you I know that it comes with a portion of the drive already formatted; ~8GB just seems nuts for a mobile OS.
     
  25. chrislaw macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #25
    Sense... this doesn't make any.
     

Share This Page