16GB RAM Early 2011 MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macman312, May 7, 2014.

  1. macman312 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
    #1
    Does anyone with a early 2011 macbook pro 15" have 16GB of memory in your computer?

    If so are there any issues?

    thanks
     
  2. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #2
    1. Yes. Many people do.

    2. No. With use of correct RAM, there aren't any issues.

    3. The most cursory search here would have shown you multiple threads answering the same questions.
     
  3. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #3
    I have 16GB in my early MBP 2011. Absolutely zero issues
     
  4. reundo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
  5. 960design macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #5
    16GB in my 2011 MacBook Pro, no issues, except that I have zero always listed by the swap :D
     
  6. Cubytus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #6
    Slightly different configuration here. Late 2011 MBP, 13", 16GB. Had only one kernel panic. As per Mushkin, it was probably an isolated incident in the 2+ years I had it. Most of the time swap is at zero, but under heavy load, it does sometimes goes to 1GB.
     
  7. duffman9000 macrumors 68000

    duffman9000

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Location:
    Costa Mesa
    #7
    I do. Zero issues.
     
  8. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    Just test the sticks before you put the machine back in service. If they show any errors, return them. Some brands seem more prone to bad ones than others.
     
  9. mjohnson1212 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  10. macman312 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
    #10
    Thanks to all those that replied...

    I found several threads from 2012 so I thought it best to start a new discussion....

    If you don't mind me asking how much did you pay for 16GB?

    I got quoted $450(I know that is way too much) for 8GB because the guy in the apple reseller I went to said it would only accept 8GB...
     
  11. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #11
    That is obscene pricing. I paid about £110 for 16GB of RAM a couple of years ago.

    If your model of Mac is 2011, you'll need 1333MHz RAM. You can pick up for about $140 here: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Certi...d=1400662661&sr=8-1&keywords=16gb+1333mhz+ram
     
  12. macman312 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia --> Cincinnati,OH
    #12
    Thanks for that! Also only $5 shipping to Australia.

    I am currently tossing up whether to do that or to get a new rMBP.... I have had a lot of the 2011 macbook pro graphic card issues and my apple care has just expired.

    Seems like a good deal though...
     
  13. 960design macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #13
    I picked up the Patriot RAM for my MAC, same deal 1333, DDR3 16GB (2x8) for about $150US.
     
  14. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #14
    While it pains me to say it, you're probably better off with a new computer. If you've already had graphics card issues, you're likely to have them again, and at the least convenient time possible.
     
  15. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #15
    I have a 2012 cMBP. It takes up to 16 GB of 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM. Any RAM faster than 1333 will downclock, so don't worry about it.

    I paid $86 for my RAM in February 2013. It was from Crucial, and I do believe it is their Mac branded RAM. Since it was cheaper I ordered it rather than regular packaging. It makes absolutely no difference if it is "Mac RAM" sold by Crucial and others or just regular RAM, it is all the same thing.
     
  16. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #16
    Yes but yours is 2012. The 2011 models have a lot of kernel panics on anything higher than 1333MHz -- going from experience here. They'll run @1600MHz but best to stick with Apple's recommended guidelines on RAM speed, if not on max RAM supported.
     
  17. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #17
    Sitting on my desk is a 2011 also. Has the identical RAM as my 2012 and it runs great. It is possible certain vendors higher speed RAM has issues, but at least in my scenario it doesn't.
     
  18. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #18
    Ah, no problem. When I ran 1600MHz in a 17" 2011 MBP it was having a load of panics until we switched down to 1333. Same with a 15" 2011 MBP, then had no issues when switching up to the 2012 model. YMMV though.
     
  19. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #19
    Very possible. It is also possible that faster RAM from certain vendors causes more issues then others when down-clocking.
     
  20. jmoore5196 macrumors 6502a

    jmoore5196

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest US
    #20
    I've been running 16GB in my early-2011 15" MBP for the past six months with no issues. I'm trying to get another year out of the old girl ... knock on wood!
     
  21. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #21
    So you found discussions from 2012 that stated you can run 16GB in an early 2011 Macbook Pro, but felt the need to start a new thread in 2014 because? You were somehow worried Apple took away the ability to run 16GB?

    Just trying to figure out the logic here.... I know I'm pretty dense and all.
     
  22. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #22
    Don't be mean Paul, sometimes it's good to triple-check with up-to-date information. Nothing wrong with being cautious.
     
  23. K4LK macrumors 6502

    K4LK

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #23
    I have 16GB of Crucial memory with a 512 Gbyte Crucial M500 flash drive. The thing screams. Blows my mind what an improvement it made.
     

Share This Page