16GB RAM in an iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by luke.mac1, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. luke.mac1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I just bought a 27" iMac (SSD so shipment date is 22nd June), and then bought 16GB of RAM from crucial for about £130. I was just wondering though; is that overkill? I mean, how much RAM can I need really?
    I do all sorts of stuff on my 2008 white MacBook and I use 3 of the 4GB RAM most of the time. I'm not a Pro video editor or anything but I do a little bit occasionally, mainly with iMovie; other than that I probably will end up playing a few games, watching HD movies and obv. surfing the web. I just can't believe that you can buy 16GB of memory for £130! When I upgraded my MacBook memory it cost £160 for 4GB!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    16GB is overkill, but if you can afford it then why not.
     
  3. CHSeifert, Jun 1, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #3
    8 gb would be fine but since 16 gb cost below $80 Then why not go all in ?

    You can never get too much ram - for future use !
     
  4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    You could always return the 16 and buy 8, for 65 pounds, then add it to your 4 for 12 total.

    half as much money for 12 gigs
     
  5. Sodner macrumors 68020

    Sodner

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    I just picked up a brandy new base 21 iMac and ordered 16GB of RAM from OWC. I'll never use that much RAM but what the heck. ;)
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
  7. Bat6111 macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    yep, when u r running a heavy software such as the software from Adobe
     
  8. MotherFinMike macrumors 6502

    MotherFinMike

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego California
    #8
    Doin basic computing surfing/videos/email has me at 30-40% use
     
  9. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    30-40% of how much?
     
  10. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
  11. MotherFinMike macrumors 6502

    MotherFinMike

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego California
    #11
    4gb I think safari is a resource hog
     
  12. ghboard2010 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Dont look now, I'm right behind you
    #12
    Enough RAM . . .

    640 KBytes is all anyone will ever need, and the world will never need more than five computers.

    ( to paraphrase two well known prophets of technology ) ;) :p
     
  13. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    He's already said he never said that first one.
     
  14. Bat6111 macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    I agree...Safari is super HOG :mad:
     
  15. JimMacFan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #15
    I went with 12gb. I paid $90 and am very happy with my purchase. 16 is a bit much but it really depends on what you are doing. I am constantly editing videos while surfing web, doing code, checking email, instant messaging, listening to music and other things. I have at least 15 apps open at any given time. I am finding that I always have about 7gb free and I feel I use ALOT of apps.
     
  16. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #16
    I've got 8GB currently in my iMac, but will shortly be upping that to 16GB as I find 8GB isn't enough for my needs.
    Having said that, it's not uncommon for me to be running 2 Windows 7 VMs, Pages, Safari, Mail, iPhoto, iTunes, Eclipse and Photoshop and end up with 2GB or so of swap in use
     
  17. xMClass macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #17
    I put 8GB of OWC RAM in my 2011 iMac and left the 4GB that came with it inside for a total of 12GB. Not bad, but there is no such thing as too much RAM! Better have the memory capacity if needed than not have enough.
     
  18. TheUndertow macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #18
    My feelings as well....RAM has become so cheap,why not go for the gusto and virtually insure you'll be good for the life of the iMac?
     
  19. Michael383 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    #19
    You bought a great machine. Max out the RAM and you will be good for years.
     
  20. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #20
    Actually a maxed out iMac has 32GB RAM in it
     
  21. ghboard2010 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Dont look now, I'm right behind you
    #21
    Hmm . . .

    Could be a case of plausible deniability. Say anything, deny everything ;) :D
     
  22. lha72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #22
    16gb ram

    RAM, like horsepower and money is something you can never have too much of. I have the previous generation, summer 2010, model 27" iMac with 16GB RAM, and have not been sorry. I do a lot of photo work with Aperture, and Adobe Photoshop CS5. RAM is cheap now, and if you plan on keeping your Mac for a long time, go ahead and fill it up because software will only get more demanding.
     
  23. Kukulcan, Jun 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011

    Kukulcan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #23
    I will definetilely need 16GB later, but thinking about getting 4GB now.

    Does the Mac need special RAM? I saw 16GB Kingston for like 279€ and RAM that is for iMac for 899€

    I just read the 4GB model is a MC511D/A - that one has four slots, right? So I can go up to 12GB first and then see if I need to have the 2x2GB replaced
     
  24. mackage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #24
    Is the RAM in the 2011 MBP the same as the 2011 iMac? I have 4gb I took out of my MBP when I upgraded it to 8gb and I thought I may just stick this extra 4 gb in the iMac when I purchase it making a total of 8gb.
     
  25. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #25

    Exactly.



    Don't you run into firmware issues with going beyond 16GB?
     

Share This Page