16gb vs. 32gb ram. Advice needed.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ChitoCrisis, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. ChitoCrisis, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  2. WJKramer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    #2
    I just bought a maxed out iMac...32GB, 4GB VRAM, SSD shipped to MD. Delivers Oct 8-10th.
     
  3. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #3
    If you're thinking about configuring it to 16/32GB RAM, don't bother, go with 8GB and buy the RAM separately, it's a lot cheaper.

    8GB is the absolute minimum for what you're doing, 16GB is recommended, 32GB will give you plenty of space for the future.
     
  4. MacCruiskeen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #4
    Yes, the price Apple charges for the upgrade is nuts. The 27" has four ram slots, two of which are empty when you buy it with 8gb. So your least-cost upgrade is to buy 16gb from Crucial or Kensington (or whoever you prefer) and put it in the two available slots. That gives you 24 gb, which should be pretty good for what you want.
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Unless you want to play some demanding games, skip the GPU upgrade. And as other suggested, you can buy and upgrade the RAM yourself, its very easy.
     
  6. ChitoCrisis, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014

    ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    California
  7. WJKramer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
  8. MacCruiskeen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #8
    The 27" is the last one with the option, which Apple doesn't really advertise. The 21" is a closed box.
     
  9. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #9
    Short answer: If you have to ask, you probably don't need 32 GB.

    The best way to find out is get 8GB iMac for now, use it for a day under typical workload. Then run Activity Monitor and see what Page Out (Swap Used in Mavericks) is in Memory tab. If it's 0GB, you don't need more than 8GB. The combination of current memory + page out (swap used) is the minimum amount of memory you should have for optimal performance.

    For my own personal workload, the ideal amount of RAM is about 20GB.
     
  10. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Same here. I have 24GB in my Mac Pro and the only time I come close to using all of it, and require a page file, is when I'm dong heavy HD editing in Premiere or After Effects. LR and Photoshop rarely fill it up.
     
  11. ChitoCrisis, Sep 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014

    ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    California
  12. KaraH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Location:
    DC
    #12
    if you are getting the 27" do NOT buy any more ram than what it ships with. Buy it from OWC or some other 3rd party place. Not only is it cheeper it is trivial to install.

    If you were getting the 21.5, yeah, might as well max it out because you need to open up your machine to get at the slot.
     

Share This Page