17" Early 2011 MacBook Pro - SSD Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by choreo, May 29, 2015.

  1. choreo macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #1
    I have an Early 2011 17" 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro with 16 GB Ram running latest version of Yosemite.

    Especially since upgrading to Yosemite a few months ago, this thing is "dog-slow". Takes at least 3-4 minutes to restart and Adobe CC Apps take forever to launch. I have run the latest version of DiskWarrior and CleanMyMac3, but no help with speed.

    All I can think of at this point to help may be an SSD drive?

    (1) Your thoughts?
    (2) If so, which SSD. I have been looking at this one... http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/SSD7P6G480/

    Thanks for any input!
     
  2. yukyuklee macrumors 6502

    yukyuklee

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    yes by installing an SSD you will notice a huge differences in your computer. Just run TRIM enabler once you do the install and theres a couple of scripts you can do to tweak the SSD I will check later but anyone feel free to chime in :p
     
  3. Jimmy Guphanti macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #3
    The trick is getting one that will work well with your computer. I am not sure exactly what the mechanics are of which SSDs can go in your Mac and which ones cannot, but if you can get a compatible one, than it might be a good idea. The problem I hear most often with that are the temperature sensors for your Mac might not interface properly with the SSD you get. You really need to educate yourself on the procedure or maybe have a pro do it.

    You may also want to pay attention to what your Mac is worth re-sell wise as it may be worth selling it and getting a brand new one. By the time you see yourself getting a new computer, your current one may be worth not that much and you will be out of pocket more money.
     
  4. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #4
    If they still made a 17" I would swap it out for a new one. 17" is the perfect size for what I do.
     
  5. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #5
    I'm not a big fan of OWC, especially after they claimed to be unaffected by the sandforce controller issue a couple years back. Anyway I have the same model. SSDs are nice, but Yosemite is still weird at times.
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Stay away from OWC, or any other drive that uses a SandForce controller.

    Get a Crucial MX100/200, or a BX100. These are great SSDs. Better still, get a Samsung 850 Evo.
     
  7. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    I second the Samsung. I have the exact machine the OP has and the 840 Evo transformed it. And stay away from OWC stuff... it's usually horribly overpriced.
     
  8. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #8
    Is the Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" SATA II or SATA III? I am guessing the 850 EVO is SATA III?

    Not sure from what the System Info is giving me? I currently have a standard 750 GB hard drive installed...

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 6 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Physical Interconnect: SATA
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    (FYI - I am running 2-Samsung 840 EVOs in my MacPro with no apparent problems as well)
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    It's SATA 3. Your current HDD only supports SATA 2, hence it's showing the negotiated link speed as SATA 2.
     
  10. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #10
    Great... thanks! That's what I was "guessing".
     
  11. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #11
    I am thinking of temporarily connecting the new SSD Drive to the MacBook and using CCC to clone my internal drive to it prior to installation.

    Does anyone know what the best adapter, sled, etc. is for connecting the drive externally?
     
  12. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Whatever is cheapest on Amazon. Don't overthink it... you just need a simple 2.5" USB enclosure. Don't bother with FW since they are rare as hens teeth and very expensive as a result. For simple cloning you won't get much of a benefit anyway.

    If you plan on keeping it for a long time, you may want a USB 3 enclosure (your next computer will likely support that). This one is popular and cheap: http://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Tool-free-Enclosure-Optimized-EC-UASP/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1432971429&sr=8-1&keywords=usb+3+uasp
     
  13. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #13
    Great... thanks!
     
  14. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #14
    Note that the OP's MBP is a 17" and hence does not have USB 3.0, so there's no point spending extra on a UASP-capable enclosure.
     
  15. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #15
    UASP capable enclosures do not cost more than other enclosures.
     
  16. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #16
    Took your advice and purchased the Sabrent enclosure on Amazon, got a Samsung 500 GB SSD 850 EVO from B&H. Used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my internal drive. Did the swap and started right up!

    Launching apps and Desktop appears faster once I see the Apple logo on the startup screen, but I am still experiencing a HUGE lag-time when restarting. From the time I choose restart and the screen goes black, the little animated watch icon runs for right at 2-1/2minutes! Then I get the white screen and apple logo about 10 seconds later and the desktop about 10 seconds after that.

    It was doing this before I swapped to the SSD, so it apparently is not a drive hardware issue - so what is taking 2-1/2 minutes to run on a restart?
     
  17. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #17
    Have you made sure that the SSD is selected as the startup drive in System Prefs → Startup Disk?
     
  18. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #18
    Any standard 2.5" SATA SSD will fit right in and work. A Mac is just a regular PC, you don't need anything special or Mac specific.

    The swap itself takes me all of 5 minutes with the correct screwdrwivers on hand. No need to pay a tech.
     
  19. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #19
    This.

    I also recommend the Samsung 850 series.
     
  20. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #20
    Yes... and it is the only drive connected as well.

    These long restarts started right after upgrading to Yosemite.
     
  21. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #21
    Is it just when restarting, or does it happen during a normal start up as well?

    I also want to comment, that I am extremely jealous of your 17'' model. If I was more informed back then, I would have done whatever it took to get one before it was discontinued. They are very neat.
     
  22. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #22
    The behavior is identical whether I choose RESTART or SHUTDOWN - the screen goes black and the "running watch" icon animates for 2-1/2 minutes before either beginning the restart sequence or shutting down?

    If I do a cold startup I get to the desktop in about 20-seconds and fully operational in about a total of 30-seconds - plenty fast.

    It just acts like it is running some type of 2-1/2 minute "check" in the background before it will shutdown or restart?
     
  23. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #23
    It must be the shut down, and not beginning the restart process, because in Yosemite we now have a progress bar instead of a gear for startup, and the gear persists for shutdown. (also given the fact that a start up works fine)

    Is there anything typically running when you shut down? Also, have you ever used Parallels or a similar program? This link seems to pin this issue on such.
     
  24. choreo thread starter macrumors regular

    choreo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    #24
    That may very well be the problem. I do have an old version of Parallels installed (which I never used). Let me try trashing that!
     
  25. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #25
    Great! Sounds like that should be your issue. I hope to hear if it works out.
     

Share This Page