17" MBP 2.66ghz vs 2.93ghz, .54mhz or .27mhz difference?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 212rikanmofo, Feb 25, 2009.

1. 212rikanmofo macrumors 65816

Wouldn't the overall difference in speed be .54 and not .27? since we are looking at the dual processors at a whole? I am still deciding on whether or not I should get a 2.93ghz over the 2.66ghz. I am a fulltime graphic designer and use my computer everyday for work. The apps I use mostly are photoshop cs4, indesign, illustrator, aperture, office 08, ilife 09, iwork 09. I use my computer to do practically everything. Internet, watch movies, encode video, video editing, etc.

Was wondering if the difference of .54mhz make a noticeable difference when using like photoshop, applying filters, and also making adjustments to RAW files in aperture?

I had a 2.53ghz 15" unibody MBP recently and notice that even with that model it chokes in aperture when making certain adjustments to RAW files. And since the 17" is a bigger machine meaning more pixels on the screen, wouldn't it require more power to push all those extra pixels?

I really need some professional opinions before I take the plunge and order my 17" mbp. Real proof of actual speed diff between the 2 model using real world applications and uses will help me better make my decision.

2. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

No, it doesn't work that way. That's like saying "I have 2 cars with a top speed of 100mph, and they hold 5 people each. If I have only 5 people total to transport, I should be able to make the car go 200mph". Not to mention, if you did count it as .54, that would mean you are actually doing 5.32GHZ vs 5.86Ghz, which is the same percentage difference anyway.

To be honest, it sounds like a Mac Pro may be a better choice for you, since you use heavy apps daily for your living. There is only so much power you can pack into a laptop. If you can wait, check out the "2009 Mac Pro" thread over on the MP board.