17"MBP - Always using discrete graphics?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blackbinary, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. blackbinary macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi All,

    I've installed gfxCardStatus, which lets you see what card is currently in use: the hd3000 or the 6750m.

    I've noticed no matter what I do, the 6750m is always in use. Even just browsing the web in firefox while on battery power. If i manually switch to the hd3000 (force integrated only mode), i notice scrolling is choppy on firefox.

    Does this mean the hd3000 is not suitable to drive the 17" version of the MBP at all?

    If other people with 17" MBPs want to test what I'm talking about;

    in gfxCardStatus, select 'integrated only', then once it switches select 'dynamic switching'. In my case no matter what I am doing, the dynamic switching (aka OSX's normal behaviour) switches to the discrete.

    Any ideas on whether this is a solvable problem or a fact of life? I'd like to get some extra battery if possible.

    I'm a new mac convert by the way. Is there something like Aero on windows which uses more graphical horsepower that I could turn off to prolong battery and give the integrated graphics an easier time?

    Thanks.
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    I'm curious as well. I get the beachball on my 15" MBP especially with videos playing like youtube. I'm only using 10% CPU power and I have 8GB installed so I know that's not either. Noticed youtube videos are screwed up sometimes too as the video will be upside down or I can't see the video controls.

    GFXCardStatus v2.0.1 is what I'm using and I suspect it's this app that's causing my similar issues.
     
  3. blackbinary thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #3
    Your issues don't sound anything like mine.
    I don't have any beachballs, and youtube works like a charm.
    My only question is why the MBP will not use integrated graphics.

    If you think gfxCardStatus (i use 2.0.1 too) is to blame for screwed up youtube videos, I don't think thats possible.
     
  4. canucksfan88 macrumors 6502a

    canucksfan88

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #4
    no idea, but i wish the 2011 mbp was like the 2009/2010 version where you could pick the graphics card without having to install software
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    Well I just got rid of that software as it made my system way to buggy. Now I just go to system prefs and to Energy tab and select what GPU I want to use and just logout and back in.

    I think that app was kinda buggy and messing with my system as I have no issues now.

    OP, can you select your integrated GPU that way?
     
  6. blackbinary thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #6
    Sure, and I had done that before.

    But it the integrated graphics do not perform well.

    I am wondering if perhaps its the inertial scrolling I have enabled. I will try disabling it tomorrow and see if that stops the choppy scrolling when integrated.
     
  7. tonyunreal macrumors regular

    tonyunreal

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #7
    I believe it's Firefox, try close it and see if it switches back to integrated.
     
  8. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    If you click on the gfxcardstatus tray icon, it should give you a list of Dependencies. These are whats causing it to switch to discrete graphics.

    Once you close the programs listed as dependancies, it should switch back to integrated graphics if you have have it set to dynamic switching.
     
  9. blackbinary thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #9
    ah i didnt see the dependency list.

    looks like its firefox, its 'plugin container' for flash (even though thats not even running), and plex media server.

    In other words, things that really dont need discrete graphics. So i suppose I can manually switch for now.
     
  10. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #10
    On my MBP gfxcardstatus works great. By default, I've enabled the HD3000. I never use dynamic switching, because then it switches all the time, when I open Chrome, FireFox etc.
    I found out that apps like hyperdock enable the 6750m by default when dynamic switching is enabled. And then no matter what apps are running, the 6750m is in use, 'cause hyperdocks is launched at startup.
    I always switch the gfx manually
     
  11. mbp17xxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #11
    yeah lots of apps enabling discrete vcard, firefox, chrome, etc.. so i have mine always turned off
     
  12. blackbinary thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #12
    I wish you could control what applications had the right to change graphics cards.

    That way you could give permission to high-end games and vlc etc, but not firefox for example.
     

Share This Page