17" MBP grey/white screen after login?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jmy2469, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. jmy2469 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    #1
    I have a 2010 MBP, with optical drive, running Mavericks. After I login, I get Apple logo and spinning wheel, the just a white or gray screen,it wont boot up. I have tried just about everything and no luck. I have an appointment at Apple Store Sunday morning. Any idea what else I could try? I am thinking my hard drive might be finished. If it is, I would like to get something with more capacity. Would be changing to a SSD be a good way to go? People tell me that I should get rid of the optical drive and put a second drive in there, then I would have to buy an external cd/dvd drive. What would my best options be if I need to get a new hard drive? Thanks for the help. John
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Looks like NVIDIAgate hit your MBP.

    The 2010 ones had a flaw with the GT 330M.
     
  3. jmy2469 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    #3
    Does this mean graphics card will have to be replaced? Or would it be logic board? Any idea on how much this will cost?
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    The entire logic board.

    Normally a flat-rate USD300 repair.
     
  5. jmy2469 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    #5
    Thanks for the info. You are correct, logic board bad. Getting it fixed, hope this is the last time for this.
     
  6. webdevfreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
  7. jmy2469 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    #7
    Thanks! Repair is $310 plus tax through Apple Store. Plan to add SSD drive after I get it back, need more storage and would like the added speed. Maybe memory upgrade also. Did you also have bad video card/ logic board also?
     

Share This Page