17" MBP SR w/ hidef owners: Sluggish expose/dashboard performance?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by milky23, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. milky23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #1
    To those of you with a 17" Santa Rosa MacBook Pro: When your running @ native resolution and activate dashboard, does it seem sluggish? It is by far choppier than my 20" CD iMac...

    Likewise, Expose runs much choppier than my old CD iMac. Anyone else experiencing this (and hopefully have a similar point of reference?)
     
  2. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #2
    I know that 8600 drivers suck right now (much slower in games than in Windows). That may be the reason. On the other hand Expose on mine is just dandy as is the annoying Dashboard.
     
  3. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #3
    I don't use either feature much, but I go through everything when getting a new machine, to make sure all is well. I didn't notice any lag or sluggish performance with Dashboard or Expose.

    I'll check again when I get a chance, but I would also be inclined to chalk it up to driver issues---and this will improve over time.
     
  4. docc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    I don't care that much for dashboard, but i'm surprised you don't Expose that much since its one feature that i find extremely handy. Infact, i believe Expose should be more customizable and hope Apple allow this in Leopard.
     
  5. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #5
    Just habit, I guess, but I tend to use Cmd+Tab to switch back and forth.
     
  6. kentfrancisco macrumors member

    kentfrancisco

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    No problem with mine. I was messing around with a bunch of widgets yesterday and flipped over to the dashboard several times and didn't notice any lag whatsoever.
     
  7. milky23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    #7
    kentfrancisco: try that again, but unplugged and running off the battery. is it still smooth?
     
  8. Megatron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #8
    I have a 15" SR mbp - and I have noticed that expose is slower than on my old g4 ibook. If I use expose a few times in a row, it seems to speed up however.

    Kind of strange - maybe it's just a driver issue with the new nvidia card?
     
  9. kentfrancisco macrumors member

    kentfrancisco

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Yeah, everything I was doing last night was without the power cable plugged in as I was testing out the battery life.
     
  10. filman408 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    I have that same issue. Its like the gpu throttles down to nothing, then takes a couple seconds to get back up to speed. When needed. It must be a heat or driver thing.
     
  11. kentfrancisco macrumors member

    kentfrancisco

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    Mac Pro 8-core (5GB ram, 2.75 TB, x1900), 30" ACD
    MacBook Pro 17" HD, 4GB, 7200rpm
    Canon XHA1; Nikon D200, various lens

    :eek: Holy crap...that's a nice gadgetry combo.
     
  12. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #12
    I noticed Expose was a bit slow on the 17" MBP in the Regent Street Apple store I played about on. Could well be the crappy drivers.
     
  13. slffl macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Is this only happening on battery? If so, do you have your performance set to maximum in the Energy Saver preferences?
     

Share This Page