17 minutes boot up on new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mantronix, May 4, 2008.

  1. Mantronix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I'm an owner of a 24" 2.4ghz aluminum iMac which is a little over a months old. Lately I have been experiencing random freezing/lockup if I open an application or surfing the internet. Only way to fix the problem is I have to shutdown my mac and restart it. Now for the past week my iMac takes about average 17 mins to load to the desktop from either a cold boot or a restart. Anyone else has this problem or know how can I fix it?
     
  2. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #2
    This might not have anything to do with it, but how much free hard drive space does it have?
     
  3. Mantronix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Over 200 gigs. It came with the 250g HD.
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Could be your HDD is failing.

    Could also be serious voltage swings coming out of your outlet. At an old worksite, we had a machine that took five minutes to boot Windows. We took it down to bench it and it fired right up and into Windows within 60 seconds. Took it back upstairs and 10 minutes...

    We eventually found out the voltage going to the surge protector was dropping below 100 volts and the power supply in the PC couldn't provide enough power to spin the HDD more then a couple hundred RPM so it took tens of times as long to load the OS.
     
  5. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #5
    A UPS might solve that problem, and be bonus protection at the same time
     
  6. dragonmantek macrumors regular

    dragonmantek

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    could it just be *gasp* OS slowdown?

    try reinstalling OS X, after backing everything up, thats what i would do, then if something were still wrong, go applecare if you still have a warranty, and if that finally doesnt work, then just take it to microcenter or something
     

Share This Page