Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

osxnewbe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 21, 2006
I am a OS X newbie after using Windows for almost 15 years. One thing I am having trouble figuring out is how to cut & paste files and folders similar to what can be done in a Windows environment (i.e. cut using Ctrl-X, paste using Ctrl-v).

An example is if I want to move files from my hard drive to a flashdrive...is there way to cut and paste (i.e. move) the files? My current method is to just drag the files the new destination (which copies them) and then drag the files from the old location to the trash bin....

When I look at the 'edit' menu in Finder, the 'cut' and 'paste' options are grayed out which makes me think they are unavailable...

Thanks in advance

OS X Newbe

calebjohnston

macrumors 68000
Jan 24, 2006
OS X is all about keyboard shortcuts.

To cut... cmd+x
To copy... cmd+c
To paste... cmd+v

(After selecting the file)

cmd (Command) is the button with the apple on it.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
You cannot cut and paste a file. It simply does not work this way. If you want to move a file then move it. Cut and paste is not move. What happens if you forget to paste? Lost file.

MajereXYU

macrumors regular
May 11, 2005
As robbieduncan said, you can't cut a file in OSX, presumably to prevent file losses...

What you can do is drag the desired file to the location you want to MOVE it to and before "dropping" it (releasing the mouse button), just press and hold either command or control (can't remember which and I'm at work so can't test). Doing so, the green "+" graphic should disappear. That means you will move instead of copy.

Hope that helps.

osxnewbe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 21, 2006
Thanks! Holding down the 'cmd' button when dragging the files makes sense.