1866MHZ RAM for iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by haddy, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. haddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #1
    Anyone got this in their late 2012 iMac and where did they get it from?
     
  2. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #2
    I am not sure if 1866MHz RAM works in 2012 iMac. But I believe that even if it works, it will only operate on 1600MHz.
     
  3. Lancer macrumors 68020

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yeah RAM will only work at the max speed of the computer.

    Just get the right RAM for your iMac to be sure.
     
  4. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #4
    1866MHZ RAM will be probably in the next imac upgrade with new main board
     
  5. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #5
    Until someone tests it, no-one knows what speed 1866MHz ram will run at in a 2012 iMac.

    It *might* run at 1600. But it *might* run at 1866.

    It all depends on how Apple have implemented the chipset and EFI. In some previous Mac Minis 1866 ram ran at 1866. I believe in the latest Mini it runs at 1600.

    Someone needs to test it.

    There is no chance of 1866 being "standard" on the next iMac though, since anything above 1600 is higher than the Intel spec and Apple will not release a computer that runs out of spec as standard. No chance.
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Hi, I tend to use Corsair Vengeance RAM. It's compatible and runs at 1866MHz. (see: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-364-CS&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1264)

    However, I must really advise against doing this. I've had 1600MHz sticks running in the Sandybridge MBPs and they almost always have issues with freezing (occasionally they get kernel panics). I've also had the same problem running 1866MHz RAM in the Ivybridge systems. They freeze from time-to-time.

    Plus the performance increase you get from an additional 266MHz is not worth the issue with stability. I guarantee that you will have some problems if you put 1866MHz RAM into your iMac. However, it will run at that speed and show as being 1866MHz in 'About This Mac'.

    So yes: it will work and it is compatible. But no: don't do it, because compatible=/=stable.
     
  7. haddy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #7
  8. aniruth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    #8
    I have 8Gb of Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz on my Mac Mini 2012, they are clocked at 1600Mhz. On my old Mac Mini 2011 they were running at 1866Mhz... :(
     
  9. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #9
    You have them installed on their own (no other sticks in there)?

    Your result seems odd, given keysofanxiety's post above.
     
  10. MorpheusXX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    #10
    I just installed 1866Mhz memory into my late 2012 iMac 27'' i5. Works fine, but runs at 1600Mhz. Actually I have it mixed with the original memory that is 1600Mhz. Works fine.

    I installed Kingston memory KHX1866C11S3P1K2/8G
     

Share This Page