$19,000 MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by reden, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. reden macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
  2. DarthMoops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
  3. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #3
    Pfff... that's a drop in the bucket.

    Sincerely

    William Henry "Bill" Gates III
     
  4. eponym macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #4
    Only 1 30" display?

    But you bought two graphics cards!
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
  6. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #6
    Seriously guys, why does Apple continue to sell their ram at such ludicrous prices? Do people really buy direct just for the added security of knowing they're fully recovered? You can max out your memory else where for at a fractional cost.

    It really shows you how much a creative firm's budget is who buys a fleet of these machines for their business. $100,000 can easily just disappear.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    4x512 = 2... I think there's a failure with your maths :p
     
  8. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #8
    I don't have this kind of money even in Monopoly.
     
  9. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    2TB, 2GB, both completely insufficient, it's pathetic. This machine's skimping on the gigabytes for my liking. My Dell has more megabytes and it only cost $190. Apple fanboi suckers.
     
  11. Fast Shadow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    Back around 1990 I was able to spec out a Mac IIfx that easily hit the $20,000 mark.

    My "problem" is that there is less and less a need for this kind of power. I guess you can use it if you're running Maxwell Render, Maya, or ZBrush. But for the actual rendering work I would expect that would be handled by a server farm rather than individual workstations.

    We buy similarly spec'd servers at my office for two reasons only - either they're going to be used as database servers with very high workloads, or they're going to be VMWare hosts, each running dozens of VMs. There are very few single apps that can make use of that kind of power. And of those apps even fewer are something you'd use on the desktop.
     
  12. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #12
    We are talking 4 512GB solid state drives. Thats expensive on any store you go too.
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    i wonder if they are SLC, for that price.....
     
  14. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #14
    Yeah, buying additional RAM from Apple is a fool's game. So, they get that RAM "fully covered" by Apple for the term of Applecare??? I'd much rather have a LIFETIME warranty on the memory by buying 3rd party. :D
     
  15. iRobertM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle WA.
    #15
    Insta ignore, congrats.
     
  16. poot1234 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #16
    And yet another example of overpricing proven by apple! :p
     
  17. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #17
    Apple does not corner the market on high priced build to order options on workstations. You can go to any brand named workstation site and easily rack-up the price by maxing out all the options.

    Sometimes you can get deals on some options, others prove to be a higher price.
     
  18. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #18
    Need some help?
     
  19. poot1234 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #19
    Yes that is true, brand names do rack up the prices, I've only built my own computers, don't like companies handling my computers!
     
  20. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #20
    Don't need help, thanks...perhaps you should see this...http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/know-it-all

    People who build computers can choose their own parts...can't see why people feel they should have to upgrade their systems through build to order options when buying a pre-built computer. Not unless they have no experience at upgrading at all.
     
  21. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    They say it's the lowest form of wit. I say it's just intellect on the offensive.
     
  22. poot1234 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #22
    Precisely. It's not hard at all.
     
  23. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    Seriously, I don't get why anyone would ever order that much RAM from Apple. The SSDs I could understand for certain tasks since they're actually quite good value for 512GB parts. The RAM is just ridiculous though. An extra five minutes would save $250 and give an extra 16GB of RAM with triple channel memory support just by going with the stock RAM and getting three 16GB (2x8GB) kits at $3299.97 for three kits for a total of 48GB vs Apple's upgrade for $3550. I mean, there's a difference between throwing money around willy nilly and simply pissing it away.
     
  24. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #24
    ok I'll remember this for the next time that you quote a blatantly sarcastic post and try to nit-pick it apart.

    Thanks for confirming the fact that I do indeed know everything.
     
  25. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #25
    I'm just being sarcastic...I don't feel the need to repost the link you gave me.
     

Share This Page